Chemistry and Biochemistry Research Guide

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent starting points for chemistry research. They provide clear definitions of key terms, and concepts. Use these resources to build a strong foundation before diving into more advanced sources.

• Cassell Dictionary of Chemistry (540.3 H3216c)
• Comprehensive Chemometrics
• Concise Encyclopedia Chemistry (540.3 A111)
• Dictionary of Chemical Names and Synonyms (660.03 H851)
• Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds (547.0503 D554)
• Dictionary of Steroids (574.1924303 D554)
• Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (660.3 E56)
• Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry (542.85 E56)
• Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry (546.03 E56)
• Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology (503 E56)
• Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (547.2 E56)
• Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry (543.0858 E5646)
• Facts on File Dictionary of Chemistry (540.3 F1428)
• German Dictionary of Chemistry, Langenscheidt Routledge (540.3 L275)
• Glossary of Chemical Terms (540.3 H229)
• Great Chemists (540 F219)
• Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary (540.3 H396 1997)
• IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology
• Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry (540.3 M167)
• McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Chemistry
• Treatise on Geochemistry
• Wikipedia
• Women in Chemistry and Physics (540 W872)

Main Dewey Decimal call numbers for browsing chemistry materials in the Mansfield Library book stacks:

540 Chemistry & allied sciences

• 541 Physical & theoretical chemistry
• 542 Techniques, equipment, materials
• 543 Analytical chemistry
• 544 Qualitative analysis
• 545 Quantitative analysis
• 546 Inorganic chemistry
• 547 Organic chemistry
• 548 Crystallography
• 549 Mineralogy