Research Guides: Anthropology Research Guide: Resources for Anthropology Research

Welcome

This research guide will help you get started in your research.
Click the tabs above for more information and please contact us for assistance!

Multidisciplinary Databases

Search or browse all databases. Recommended databases are listed below.

Specialized Databases

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window Full text journal review articles synthesizing current research and understandings in science and social science disciplines. Complete archives-present provided for most AR titles. NOTE: This Ejournal Package was cancelled beginning Jan 2021. Click more... for details.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Package title list: Annual Reviews
See the Library Guide to Finding Articles for information about the cancellations and other resources for obtaining full text.
Post-2020 perpetual access will include:
• Volume 1 through 2020.
Anthropological Index Online This link opens in a new window Index to journal articles in the Anthropology Library and Research Centre at the British Museum, and to films held at the Royal Anthropological Institute, covering all branches and areas of anthropology, primarily in English, followed by Slavonic, Latin-based, and other languages, from 1957-present.
Anthropological Literature This link opens in a new window Index to articles, commentaries, reports, and obituaries in the fields of anthropology and archaeology, specifically social and cultural anthropology, Old and New World archaeology, physical anthropology and related subjects, with an emphasis on Mesoamerican, Native American and Andean archaeology and ethnology. Updated quarterly, indexes works in English and other European languages from the late 19th century-present. Access limited to 5 users.
- This link opens in a new window
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window Full text American Anthropological Association journals, newsletters, bulletins, and monographs, from initial publication dates-present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (formerly Bibliography of Native North Americans) This link opens in a new window Index to journal articles, books, essays, and government documents from the U.S. and Canada covering Native North American culture, history, and daily life, from the 16th century-present. NOTE: The database adopted a new name on 4/29/22. The content remains the same.
- This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures (formerly eHRAF Ethnography) This link opens in a new window Index to ethnographic and archaeological texts, including books, monographs, journal articles, dissertations, and manuscripts, on past and present cultures from major regions around the world covering all aspects of cultural and social life. Produced by Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) at Yale University.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window Streaming classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent as well as full text transcripts, interviews, field notes, and study guides covering human culture and behavior, including culture and cultural change, kinship and family, economic systems and globalization, gender and sexuality, religion and ritual, and language and communication. NOTE: The library only owns the videos in volume I of the collection.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnologue This link opens in a new window Full text reference work indexing all of the worlds 7,111 known living languages. Unlimited access to the Basic package, including unlimited page views and the Classic Maps. Premium Maps and downloadable Country Digests are not included.
- This link opens in a new window