Research Guides: Resources Against Racism: Research and Teaching

Find Articles, Books, and Dissertations

Databases

OneSearch
The library's search tool for discovering materials both on the shelves and online. It also includes millions of full-text articles and citation records sourced from publishers, open access repositories, and most of the library’s licensed databases. To explore content that is not fully searchable in OneSearch, click here to view a list of databases with limited or no coverage.
Diversity Collection
Contains full text databases Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch and Alt-PressWatch in one platform.
Exploring Race in Society
Essays, articles, reports and other sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity, and inclusiveness. Includes full text articles, primary source documents and speeches from BlackPast, a source on African American history, as well as government agency reports and journal content pertaining to issues of race, including those of Indigenous communities.
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes scholarly articles, books, dissertations, and conference papers on U.S. and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the present. It includes full-text access to over 200 journals and 80 books, with indexed content dating back to 1863. Access is limited to six users at a time.
Dissertations & Theses Global, ProQuest
Index to dissertations and theses from over 3,000 institutions in 88 countries. Full text coverage spans from 1743-present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637. Note: Dissertations & Theses Global may also be searched and accessed via Web of Science, as well as OneSearch.
JSTOR
Explore over 2,800 academic journals across more than 60 disciplines, including the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Access millions of primary sources from four unique collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. Discover over 3 million high-quality images from ARTstor, along with a growing library of 10,000+ open access books. Click more… for links to specific collections.

ARTstor on JSTOR
Existing ARTstor logins automatically work on JSTOR. The separate artstor.org platform will be available until Aug 1, 2024, when it is scheduled to be retired.

Open Access books on JSTOR
More than 10,000 open access (OA) books from 125+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, University College of London, and University of California Press.

19th Century British Pamphlets
Nearly 26,000 pamphlets from collections in seven universities spanning more than one million pages. Brings together a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain.

New Collections Added Aug 2023
Thematic Collections
Three collections focusing on emerging areas of research and containing multiple types of content, including journals and open research reports. Collections include:
•Lives of Literature - Academic journals devoted to the deep study of writers and texts associated with core literary movements.
•Security Studies - Academic and open policy research on international and national security problems and foreign policy issues.
•Sustainability - Academic and open policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens spanning more than 30 disciplines.

Primary Sources
Global Plants
A growing collection of nearly three million high-resolution type plant specimens and related materials from over 300 community contributors around the world.

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
27,000 objects and 190,000 pages of documents and images related to the liberation struggles and end of Apartheid in Southern Africa during the 20th Century, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.

World Heritage Sites: Africa
More than 86,000 objects of visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage and rock art sites.

Journals

Below is a select list of journals. Searching the databases listed in the box below will lead you to additional publications relevant to research and teaching in the areas or anti-racism and race.

Find Primary Source Documents

(Photos from Black Freedom Struggle Database, below)

Websites

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality, ProQuest
Over 6,000 documents focused on critical people and events in African American history, organized in six different phases of Black Freedom, from Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement up to the Contemporary Era.
Freedmen's Bureau Search Portal, National Museum of African American History and Culture
Records from the United States Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, commonly known as the Freedmen’s Bureau. Multiple sets of Freedmen’s Bureau data in one place, allows users to search indexed data for specific names, places, and dates and transcribed data for topics, subjects, institutions, and any other words or phrases.

more... less...

The portal and the ongoing Freedmen’s Bureau Transcription Project provide a better understanding of Reconstruction and post-emancipation African American life and allow African Americans to connect with their ancestors in a way that was previously thought impossible.
Digital Collections, Library of Congress

Databases

Black Abolitionist Papers
Over 15,000 digitized primary sources from African Americans active in the abolition movement between 1830 and 1865. This archive includes letters, speeches, sermons, lectures, articles, essays, editorials from more than 200 newspapers, as well as poems and various other documents. The majority of materials originate from the United States, Canada, and the British Isles.
Chicago Defender Historical
(1909-1975) Full text digitized newspaper covering politics, society, and events of the time from an African-American perspective
HeinOnline Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law
Full text American Indian Law related treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence.
History Vault
Full text of several million pages of digitized primary source materials drawn from the National Archives, presidential libraries, and the archival papers of key organizations and individuals, presented in eight modules: (1) Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, (2) Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1, (3) NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files, (4) NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces, (5) Slavery and the Law (1775-1867), (6-7) Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records, Parts 1 and 2, (8) Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975. Note: Beginning July 2024, History Vault moved to a new interface. The former version is available from History Vault (Legacy).
Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal)

Full-text publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs pertaining to the Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North America. Anyone can use the freely available materials in the portal, but certain content is only available under a license. Click on the "Find it at University of Montana" buttons in the database to check for available options.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Digitized full-text newspapers from diverse urban and rural areas across the United States. This collection features major publications alongside newspapers produced by African American and Native American communities, women's rights advocates, labor organizations, the Confederacy, and other social and political groups. It also includes illustrated papers that vividly depict 19th-century life through the artwork of numerous period artists. Note: Access the collection from Gale Primary Sources to cross-search across a wider range of digital collections.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Full text of over 119,000 digitized pages of biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories on the indigenous peoples of North America.
Sabin Americana (1500-1926)
Digitized full-text books, pamphlets, serials, and other original documents offering firsthand accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, westward expansion, Native American history, military events, and more across the Americas. This collection is based on Joseph Sabin’s renowned bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana, and includes publications from around the world.
Note: Access the collection from Gale Primary Sources to cross-search a wider range of digital collections.
Far-Right and Left Political Groups in the U.S., Europe, and Australia in the Twentieth Century
Spanning the 1900s through the 2010s, this collection encompasses a wide range of political movements from both the far-right and radical left. It features periodicals, campaign materials, government documents, oral histories, and assorted ephemera. Click more… to view a list of the subcollections included. Note: Access the collection from Gale Primary Sources to cross-search across a wider range of digital collections.
- The American Radicalism Collection (1912-1995) Since 1970, the American Radicalism Collection at Michigan State University has been collecting ephemera on radical political groups across a range of extremist movements, including those involved in religion, race, gender, the environment, and equal rights.
- HO 283 Home Office: Defence Regulation 18B, Advisory Committee Papers (1920-1948) Sir Oswald Ernald Mosley, 6th Baronet of Ancoats, was a British politician and Member of Parliament. In 1932, Mosley formed and became the leader of the British Union of Fascists. The party was renamed the National Socialists in 1936 and British Union in 1937 and was said to be modelled on Adolf Hitler’s National Socialist German Workers' Party. Mosley was interned under Defence Regulation 18B in 1940. The papers concern Mosley’s appeal against his detention during the Second World War and includes papers of Norman Birkett, KC, concerning the British Union of Fascists.
- British Home Office Registered Papers Regarding British Fascists and Suspected Nazi Sympathisers (1920-1949) Home Office papers on individuals detained during the Second World War because of their involvement with right-wing groups such as the British People's Party, the British Union, the Fascist January Club, the Imperial Fascist League, the Link, the National Socialist League, the Nordic League, and the Right Club.
- The Security Service: Personal (PF Series) Files (1920-1947) Contains selected files from the First and Second World War periods and the inter-war years on suspected spies, renegades, communist sympathisers, right-wing extremists, and other groups in which the British Security Service took an interest, including pacifist and anti-conscription groups.
- Fascist and Anti-Fascist Booklets (1917-2017) This collection contains booklets from both fascist and anti-fascist activist groups from as early as 1918. Coverage includes a broad spectrum of political propaganda penned by notable individuals, such as Arnold Leese and William Joyce, as well as the output of their opposition, such as the Communist Party of Great Britain and the Anti-Defamation League of B’nai B’rith.
- The Hall-Hoag Collection of Dissenting and Extremist Printed Propaganda (1942-1995) from the John Hay Library at Brown University began as a collection of material gathered by Gordon Hall. After returning from World War II, Hall investigated hate groups in the United States for Friends of Democracy, an anti-totalitarian group. He built a substantial collection of propaganda materials, mainly focused on anti-integrationist, anti-Semitic, and racist groups, such as the American Fascist Union and Ku Klux Klan organisations.
- Leaflets, Stickers, Posters, Electoral Ephemera from Fascist and Anti-Fascist Groups (1917-2017) This collection contains leaflets, stickers, posters, and electoral ephemera from far-right groups, such as the British Movement, British National Party, Combat 18, England First, International Third Positionists, National Front, National Socialist Movement, and the National Socialist Party of Australia.
- Searchlight Magazine (1917-2017) Searchlight was founded in 1964 as an occasional newspaper publication, but from 1975 to present it has been published as a monthly magazine. Its primary purpose is to investigate and publish exposes on fascist, anti-Semitic, and racist groups operating both in Britain and abroad.
- Searchlight Oral Histories Collection (2015) Recorded interviews with anti-fascist activists active from 1940s-1990s. These are exclusive recordings with anti-fascists about their experiences, discussing the post-war history of anti-fascism and what caused them to get engaged in the movement.

Curriculum Planning Resources

Native American Pedagogies, Office of Teaching & Learning, University of Denver
"Information and guiding cultural context to design welcoming academic spaces for teaching and learning."
Talking About Race, National Museum of African American History and Culture
Institutionalized Racism: A Syllabus, Catherine Halley (2020)
Articles to "help students understand George Floyd’s death in the context of institutionalized racism."
Scaffolded Anti-Racist Resources, Anna Stamborski, Nikki Zimmermann, and Bailie Gregory (2020)
Working document "to facilitate growth for white folks to become allies, and eventually accomplices for anti-racist work."
The Anti-Racist Reading List: 38 books for those open to changing themselves, and their world, Ibram X. Kendi (2019)
"This anti-racist syllabus is for people realizing they were never taught how to be anti-racist."
Teaching Race: Pedagogy and Practice, Vanderbilt University Center for Teaching (2019)
"This guide summarizes some of the common challenges instructors may encounter and offers five broad pedagogical principles for teaching racial justice, and three possible strategies for implementing each strategy in the classroom."
Teaching Anti-Racism, Creighton University
"A collection of resources developed by Dr. Erika Dakin Kirby and Dr. Guy McHendry and supported by Creighton University’s Kingfisher Institute for the Liberal Arts and Professions."
Justice in June, Autumn Gupta with Bryanna Wallace
"A starting place for individuals trying to become better allies. Choose how much time you have each day to become more informed as step one to becoming an active ally to the black community."
Facing History & Ourselves
"Facing History’s resources address racism, antisemitism, and prejudice at pivotal moments in history; we help students connect choices made in the past to those they will confront in their own lives."
Supporting Racial Justice for All Students, National Education Association

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
Index to education-related scholarly and professional journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, books, and government publications from 1966-present. Project of the U.S. Department of Education. See also the Education Research Index which includes ERIC, as well as supplementary coverage of journals that ERIC will no longer index.