This is the "Home" page of the "New Government Documents" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Accessible Navigation. Go to: Navigation Main Content Footer

New Government Documents  

Reviews of new government documents
Last Updated: May 9, 2013 URL: http://libguides.lib.umt.edu/content.php?pid=324032 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Effects of climatic variability and change on forest ecosystems


Effects of climatic variability and change on forest ecosystems : a comprehensive science synthesis for the U.S. forest sector. Portland, OR : U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Forest Service, Pacific Northwest Research Station, 2012. 265 p.

Call number: A 13.88:PNW-GTR-870 Also available online.

“This report is a scientific assessment of the current condition and likely future condition of forest resources in the United States relative to climatic variability and change. It serves as the U.S. Forest Service forest sector technical report for the National Climate Assessment and includes descriptions of key regional issues and examples of a risk-based framework for assessing climate-change effects.”- Abstract

 

Opportunities for outdoor recreation on public lands

Opportunities for outdoor recreation on public lands. Subcommittee on National Parks, Forests and Public Lands of the Committee on Natural Resources U.S. House of Representatives.
 
Call number Y4.r 31/3:112-44  Also available online 

Don’t judge a book by its cover! Many of the published hearings we receive are full of interesting information. The testimony in this hearing deals with off road vehicles with arguments for more access and arguments against.  Testimony by Russ Ehnes focuses on OHV used in Montana.

Witnesses:
Akenson, Jim, Executive Director, Backcountry Hunters and Anglers
Amador, Donald, Blue Ribbon Coalition       
Bacon, Sutton, Chief Executive Officer, Nantahala Outdoor Center, Inc   
Crimmins, Thomas, Lead Spokesman, Professionals for Managed Recreation
Ehnes, Russ, Executive Director, National Off-Highway Vehicle Conservation Council
Jones, Scott, Board of Directors, Colorado Off-Highway Vehicle Coalition
Lepley, Dick, Executive Director, Pennsylvania Off-Highway Vehicle Association
Umphress, Karen, Board Member, Minnesota Motorized Trails Coalition and the Coalition of Recreational Trail Users

 

Intelligence Revolution 1960


Intelligence Revolution 1960: Retrieving the Corona Imagery that Helped Win the Cold War
. 2012. 240p. Defense Dept., National Reconnaissance Office.

Call number: D 1.2:IN 8/16

“This book is a collection of first-person stories from the ‘Cold War warriors’ who were in the ‘high-tech trenches’ of space reconnaissance in the 1950’s and 1960’s. These are the people who developed the Corona film-return photoreconnaissance systems and brought back the secrets that helped win the Cold War” –From preface by Ingard Clausen.

CORONA was the nation's first photo reconnaissance satellites, operating from August 1960 until May 1972. The program was declassified at the request of the Central Intelligence Agency in February 1995. The Index of the Declassified CORONA, ARGON, and LANYARD Records are available.

 

War, Will and Warlords

War, Will, and Warlords; Counterinsurgency in Afghanistan and Pakistan, 2001-2011, by Robert M. Cassidy. Marine Corps U. Press. 2012

Call Number D 214.2:W 19/3 Also available online

From the back cover:

“War, Will, and Warlords: Counterinsurgency in Afghanistan and Pakistan, 2001–2011 compares the reasons for and the responses to the insurgencies in Afghanistan and Pakistan since October  2001. Taliban insurgencies in both countries have grown in strength during this period, though the United States and its partners have dedicated significant amounts of time and effort to stabilize the region. Pakistan and Afghanistan represent the epicenter in this long war because machinations in these two countries led to the emergence of the first Taliban neo-emirate with Pakistan’s support. The Taliban consequently harbored al-Qaeda before and during the September 2001 attacks on the United States. Al-Qaeda and affiliated armed groups now benefit from sanctuary across the border in Pakistan. The border regions between Afghanistan and Pakistan— known as the Pashtun Belt—are inexorably linked to the future stability of South Asia and to the security of the United States. This book lies at the intersection of international security studies, military strategy, and the operational art of counterinsurgency and offers general policy and strategy prescriptions for bringing durable stability to this vital region.”

 

Your Depository

The purpose of Federal Depository Libraries is to ensure that the American public has access to its Government’s information.  Books, reports, maps and other information from the Federal Government are disseminated to this library and others to ensure free access to the American public both in print and online.

In our collection you will find information on all subjects both national and international.

If you need more information about finding and using government publications go to our Government Information Library Guide.

 

Outdoor recreation

Outdoor recreation in the northern United States. Newtown Square, PA : U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Forest Service, Northern Research Station, 2012. p71.

Call number:  A 13.88:NRS-100 Also available online.

“In this report, we describe recent population trends and forecasts for the North within the context of other U.S. regions, demographic composition of its population, recreation participation by its residents age 16 and older, trends in activities and time spent outdoors by its youth, and the recreation resources, both public and private. The region referenced here includes the 20 states bounded by the corner states of Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, and Maryland.”- Introduction

 

Changing climate, changing forests

Rustad, L, Campbell, J. Dukes, T. Lambert, K, Mohan, J. Rodenhouse, N., Changing climate, changing forests : the impacts of climate change on forests of the northeastern United States and eastern Canada, Newtown Square, PA : U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Forest Service, Northern Research Station, 2012. 48pg.

Call number: A 13.88:NRS-99 Also available online.

“Decades of study on climatic change and its direct and indirect effects on forest ecosystems provide important insights for forest science, management, and policy. A synthesis of recent research from the northeastern United States and eastern Canada shows that the climate of the region has become warmer and wetter over the past 100 years and that there are more extreme precipitation events. Greater change is projected in the future. The amount of projected future change depends on the emissions scenarios used. Tree species composition of northeast forests has shifted slowly in response to climate for thousands of years. However, current human-accelerated climate change is much more rapid and it is unclear how forests will respond to large changes in suitable habitat. Projections indicate significant declines in suitable habitat for spruce-fi r forests and expansion of suitable habitat for oak-dominated forests. Productivity gains that might result from extended growing seasons and carbon dioxide and nitrogen fertilization may be offset by productivity losses associated with the disruption of species assemblages and concurrent stresses associated with potential increases in atmospheric deposition of pollutants, forest fragmentation, and nuisance species. Investigations of links to water and nutrient cycling suggest that changes in evapotranspiration, soil respiration, and mineralization rates could result in significant alterations of key ecosystem processes.” -Abstract

 

Annotation, annual report

Annotation, annual report. National Historical Publications and Records Commission. 2012

Call number: AE 1.114:2012.  Also available online.

Learn about digital resources created utilizing archival documents from NARA in this great report! Includes:

Founders Online which contains transcriptions and annotated papers of George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison.

Exhibits such as Birth of the Nation which “provides an overview of the work of and issues faced by this seminal Congress, which was a virtual second sitting of the Federal Convention, fleshing out the governmental structure outlined in the Constitution and addressing the difficult issues left unresolved by the Constitution. Each "topic" begins with a quote from the Constitution relating to it. The illustrations (letters, newspaper articles, cartoons, portraits, etc.) for the topics provide just a sampling of the. wealth of material in the Documentary History of the First Federal Congress, 1789-1791.” –Birth of the Nation

The Dolley Madison Project 

The Eleanor Roosevelt papers project 

The Lincoln Assassination Report

Digitizing Show Business- NARA materials will be included in the University of Washington Libraries Sayre Digital Collection

Also see: The American Founders Online 

 

Dr. Seuss' The Lorax Curriculum Guide

Dr. Seuss The Lorax, Curriculum Guide, 2012
Call number: A 13.36/2:L 88, Also available online.
Activity guide
Website: discovertheforest.org

Six activities ranging from PreK to 8th grade, including watching the Lorax and examining the importance of managing resources, learning about the number of products utilizing tree products, role-playing the management of a tree farm and a public forest, and planting trees. Content is copyrighted but permission is given for reproduction for school use.

This document comes from the USDA, U.S. Forest Service, AD Council, Project Learning Tree and Universal Pictures.  

 

Capital engineers

Scott, Pamela. Capital engineers : the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in the development of Washington, D.C. 1790-2004. 3rd ed. Alexandria, Virginia : Office of History, Headquarters, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, 2011.

Call number: D 103.43:870-1-67/2011 Also available online 

Although not forgotten, but perhaps imperfectly remem

bered, the Corps’ critical role in the development of Washington, D.C., is a fascinating and important chapter in U.S. Army Engineer history. The Corps’ role began when the federal government called on the expertise of the few formally educated engineers in the early republic to provide urban services such as a reliable water supply or to contribute to the expansion of the Capitol.”- Forward

This is a beautiful book which history, engineering and architecture students will enjoy.

 

Turning Point 9.11

Turning Point 9.11, Air Force Reserve in the 21st Century, 2001-2011, September 2012, 

Call Number:  D 301.2:R 31/18 Also available online.

“The contributions Air Force Reservists are making to the security of the United States and the world is a continuum of visionary concepts, ideas, and challenges undertaken at the beginning of the last century in the quest of human flight. Reserve members voluntarily partook of these endeavors and also gradually formed an effective organization. Moreover, the course toward the twenty-first century policy of maintaining a strategic air reserve that is well integrated with active duty forces and operationally engaged daily has been evolutionary and forged out of practicality and necessity. The result has been a responsive and efficient Air Force Reserve.”-DVIDS

 

Principal Short-Term Finding of the National Fire Surrogate Study


Principal Short-Tern Findings of the National Fire Surrogate Study
. James Mclver, Karen Erickson, and Andrew Youngblood.  2012. Portland, OR : U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Forest Service, Pacific Northwest Research Station, 210 p.

Call Number: A 13.88:PNW-860 Also available online.

“Principal findings of the National Fire and Fire Surrogate (FFS) study are presented in an annotated bibliography and summarized in tabular form by site, discipline (ecosystem component), treatment type, and major theme. Composed of 12 sites, the FFS is a comprehensive multidisciplinary experiment designed to evaluate the costs and ecological consequences of alternative fuel reduction treatments in seasonally dry forests of the United States. The FFS has a common experimental design across the 12-site network, with each site a fully replicated experiment that compares four treatments: prescribed fi re, mechanical treatments, mechanical + prescribed fire, and an unmanipulated control. ecosystem, including vegetation, the fuel bed, soils, bark beetles, tree diseases, and wildlife in the same 10-ha experimental units.”-Abstract

 

Keeping up with Government Documents

It can be difficult to keep up with all the publications created by the U.S. government. Here you will find the highlights of some of the materials we received every day. Books listed here are available for checkout and may also be available online.

If you would like to be notified when a document in your field arrives, email susanne.caro@umontana.edu

 

Government News for Montana

Have you seen a news article and want to know about the government reports and documents that are related? Check out Government News for Montana where you can link to source materials.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Sage-Grouse Habitat In Idaho

Sage-Grouse Habitat In Idaho; A practical Guide for Land Owners and Managers. Jeffery K. Gillan and Eva K. Strand. 2010
Call Number I 53.7/2:SA1 Also available online 


“The greater sage-grouse is a species in decline across the western United States, including Idaho. As implied by the name, greater sage-grouse depend on sagebrush dominated landscapes for their forage, cover, nesting habitat, and ultimate survival. The deterioration of sagebrush landscapes in the West has been a crucial factor in the decline of the greater sage-grouse, which is currently a candidate species under the federal Endangered Species Act. State and federal government land managers, researchers, private landowners, and concerned citizens are leading efforts to conserve this species in Idaho.


For more information on Sage-Grouse go to http://www.fws.gov/mountain-prairie/species/birds/sagegrouse/

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip