This is the "Home" page of the "Women in Government Documents" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Accessible Navigation. Go to: Navigation Main Content Footer

Women in Government Documents  

a quick look at resources relating to the history of women in the united states.
Last Updated: Mar 5, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.umt.edu/content.php?pid=428923 Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

E.P.W. Packard

Postal rights of inmates of insane asylums. Memorial in support of the bill for the protection of the postal rights of the inmates of insane asylums. February 1, 1875 Y 1.1/2:Serial Set Number 1654

This serial set document is the testimony of a women who was falsely sent to an insane asylum for three years. Her husband, a reverend, had her committed for a difference in opinion in religion.

 

You're Going to Employ Women

Call number W 1.2:W84

From 1943 this booklet was intended to help employers who would be hiring women for the first time.

 

Women in Government Documents

Government documents are a great source of primary document dealing with many aspects of women’s lives throughout the history of the United States.

U.S. Serial Set
This is a wonderful resource for reports and first person accounts. We have many paper copies as well as a searchable database. You can find many documents from this collection by searching the library catalog.

Congressional Hearings
Personal accounts and statements can be found in many of the House and Senate hearings. These documents cover education, labor, civil rights, and many other issues. Our ProQUest database will help you find the hearings you want.

HeinOnline: U.S. Congressional Documents Library
Full text of the Congressional Globe (1833-1873), Congressional Record (1873-present), Statutes at Large (U.S. laws), American State Papers, Territorial Papers of the U.S. and more.

HeinOnline
Law Journals and full text access to full runs of the Federal Register, Statutes at Large, presidential documents, Congressional Record, Supreme Court opinions

Agency reports
Each government agency created annual reports with valuable information on topics from crime to wages. Search the library catalogs to find these documents.

Census
There are many different types of census that collect statistics on the state of the country. The Statistical Abstract (more recent information) collects statistics from many government agencies. We have paper copies of the Statistical Abstract back to 1878 (older issues are in the Serial Set).

Historical Statistics of the United States
A digital version of a classic Census publication cumulating historical statistics of the U.S. Provides easier access by subject and tables.

 Historic Statistical Abstract 1878-1900

 Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.

 

 

HeinOnline

There are 4 different HeinOnline databases. Make sure you are using the right one!

  • HeinOnline
    Law Journals and full text access to full runs of the Federal Register, Statutes at Large, presidential documents, Congressional Record, Supreme Court opinions
  • HeinOnline: American Indian Law Collection
    With more than 700 unique titles and 750,000 pages dedicated to American Indian Law, this collection includes an expansive archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence.This collection also includes legislative histories and links to scholarly articles.
  • HeinOnline: U.S. Congressional Documents Library
    Full text of the Congressional Globe (1833-1873), Congressional Record (1873-present), Statutes at Large (U.S. laws), American State Papers, Territorial Papers of the U.S. and more.
  • HeinOnline: U.S. Federal Agency Library
    Decisions, opinions, and orders of many federal agencies
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip