Finding Good Articles
The library databases are the best place to look for full-text access to newspaper and scholarly articles. The databases are diverse and some, like those listed below, are useful for general research. Others are more specific to particular majors and areas of research.
Below are a few good places to start your research, and if you want to pursue more specific databases they are listed alphabetically when you click on the Databases tab from the library homepage and then select All. (Each database has a description with it so that it is clear what kind of information it contains.)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journal, trade publication, magazine and newspaper articles, books, book reviews, reports, and Associated Press video content, covering all subject areas.
- Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text current and archived articles from U.S. and global news sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current newspaper, magazine, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, as well as historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Specific ethnic groups include African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native. See also the Diversity Collection to search Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch and Alt-PressWatch in one platform.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly and popular articles and gray literature titles focusing on the evolution of gender roles in society. Covers topics related to gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies from 1970-present. See also the Diversity Collection to search Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch and Alt-PressWatch in one platform.
- Missoulian This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information from the local newspaper that ranges from 2005-present. Use this link to prevent being blocked after viewing 10 stories. - North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 119,000 digitized pages of biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories on the indigenous peoples of North America. - Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text news resource on controversial social issues and current events, covering pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
Community Resources
Here are some resources beyond the library (often organized by different communities) that may help you in your search for additional information. Material that has a different scope, focus or audience than traditional scholarly information may add complexity, interest or local relevance to your topic.
Apply the same scrutiny to the material you find through these sites that you would to any other information. Use the questions on the back of your Library Research Journal to evaluate the information.
- Census Data, US Census BureauYou can search for a wealth of demographic and statistical information.
- Missoula City GovernmentOfficial website of the Missoula City Government. Links to city budgets, governing documents (minutes and agendas), city agency data (i.e. Parks and Recreation).
- Arts MissoulaVision from website: "Arts Missoula serves as a resource for the coordination, development, and support of art and culture for the benefit of the Missoula community." Includes information about current events, programs and activities in Missoula community.
- Montana Governor's Office of Indian AffairsStatement from website: Montana is home to 7 Indian reservations and the state-recognized Little Shell Tribe of Chippewa Indians. For fast facts on the tribes, reservations and their economy, and tribal councils, please click on the links or use the interactive map.
- Montana KaiminUniversity of Montana student newspaper.
- National Native NewsDescription from website: National Native News provides listeners with relevant, timely coverage on Native American and Indigenous communities. The program began in 1987 and is currently produced in Albuquerque, New Mexico. NNN appeals to radio listeners who are engaged in the world around them and who seek out a broader range of viewpoints.