Linguistics Research Guide

A professional organization whose members engage in research and practice in applied language issues; includes links to awards, graduate programs, jobs and more.

Ethnologue contains information on 7,105 known living languages.

Links to conference information, journal information, and more.

Hosted by Rice University; includes links to publications, conferences, and more.

Founded in 1924 to advance the scientific study of language; includes links to publications, membership, jobs, and more.

Hosted by Eastern Michigan University and Wayne State University; includes links to language resources, conferences, jobs, mailing lists and more.

The Society for Linguistic Anthropology (SLA) is a section of the American Anthropological Association (AAA).

Includes links to conferences, web resources, journals, bibliographies, and more.

Founded over 70 years ago, SIL International is a faith-based organization that studies, documents, and assists in developing the world’s lesser-known languages. SIL’s staff shares a Christian commitment to service, academic excellence, and profession

he Alaska Native Language Center was established by state legislation in 1972 as a center for research and documentation of the twenty Native languages of Alaska. It is internationally known and recognized as the major center in the United States for the study of Eskimo and Northern Athabascan languages.

The American Indian Language Development Institute's (AILDI) mission is to provide critical training to strengthen efforts to revitalize and promote the use of Indigenous languages across generations. This is accomplished by engaging educators, schools, Indigenous communities and policy makers nationally and internationally through outreach, transformative teaching, purposeful research and collaborative partnerships.

ELF is a 501(c)3 founded in 1996 with the goal of supporting endangered language preservation and documentation projects. Our main mechanism for supporting work on endangered languages has been funding grants to individuals, tribes, and museums. ELF’s grants have promoted work in over 55 countries and have seen a wide range of projects, from the development of indigenous radio programs in South Dakota, to recording of the last living oral historian of the Shor language of western Siberia, to the establishment of orthographies and literacy materials to be used by endangered language teaching programs all over the world.

The Endangered Languages Project puts technology at the service of the organizations and individuals working to confront the language endangerment by documenting, preserving and teaching them. Through this website, users can not only access the most up to date and comprehensive information on endangered languages as well as language resources being provided by partners, but also play an active role in putting their languages online by submitting information or samples in the form of text, audio or video files. In addition, users will be able to share best practices and case studies through a knowledge sharing section and through joining relevant Google Groups.

The Language Conservancy (TLC) supports the survival of endangered languages through grants for research and advocacy programs, and technical assistance to grassroots-level language preservation and education efforts.

When invited, the Enduring Voices Project assists indigenous communities in their efforts to revitalize and maintain their threatened languages.

The mission of The Salish Institute is to improve the health, culture, education and environment of the Salish and Pend d'Oreille people. The Institute will leverage human and capital resources to initiate, coordinate, and support activities and programs that promote cultural identity and strengthen tribal communities.

Sponsored by Democratic Senator Jonathan Windy Boy from the Rocky Boy Reservation, reverses the state’s historic policies, which punished Native American students for speaking their languages in the public schools.

SLP works with communities to document and preserve the Shoshoni language; disseminate learning materials to tribal members and teachers; create curricula and customized materials for various age levels, including bilingual children’s picture books; provide Shoshoni language teacher training; and assist tribal communities with grant preparation focused on language maintenance and revitalization.

The Society for the Study of the Indigenous Languages of the Americas (SSILA) was founded in December 1981 as the international scholarly organization representing American Indian linguistics, and was incorporated in 1997. Membership in SSILA is open to all those who are interested in the scientific study of the languages of the native peoples of North, Central and South America. The Society has approximately 900 members, more than a third of them residing outside the United States.

The Survey of California and Other Indian Languages is a research center in the Department of Linguistics, University of California, Berkeley, supporting the documentation, study, and revitalization of the indigenous languages of California and the Americas.

The Yukon Native Language Centre is a training and research facility which provides a range of linguistic and educational services to Yukon First Nations and to the general public. It is located in the Commons wing of Yukon College, Ayamdigut Campus, Whitehorse, Canada. The Centre is administered by the Council of Yukon First Nations with funds provided by the Government of Yukon.