Search Library Resources with OneSearch
Ask Us! We're Here to Help
Chat with a librarian
Our live chat is active from 10am-4pm Monday-Friday during semesters, otherwise you can leave an offline message!
View common questions about the library, including information about borrowing items, accessing online resources, using library space, and more!
Stay up-to-date with the latest library news, events, and research tips!
Related Resources
The following databases provide additional sources of information for literary research. Use them to locate supportive historical and related information.Review a list of all Mansfield Library databases here.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journal, trade publication, magazine and newspaper articles, books, book reviews, reports, and Associated Press video content, covering all subject areas.
- Essay and General Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to essays and miscellaneous works covering all subject areas that were published in the United States, Canada, and Great Britain, dating back to 1985. Produced by H.W. Wilson. Access limited to 1 user.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles and book reviews covering a wide-range of humanities, social sciences, and interdisciplinary fields from core scholarly English-language periodicals, as well as a number of lesser-known specialized magazines. Produced by H.W. Wilson.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Index to over three million articles from 550 magazines, includes all content from the print volumes of the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, a comprehensive index of popular general interest periodicals published in the U.S. during the 20th Century. Produced by H.W. Wilson.
- New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
(1851-2021) Full text digitized newspaper articles. Includes complete paper, cover-to-cover.
- Washington Post Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(1877-2008) Full text digitized newspaper. Includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover.
Databases
The following databases and websites are key resources for locating journal articles, books, and other resources relevant to the study of ethical journalism.
- ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary professional literature of the communication(s) field covering human communication studies, speech communication, rhetoric, journalism, mass communication, etc. - Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers news resources; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; federal case law; U.S. code; and state legal research. - Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is a great resource for world and national news, especially for the Western U.S., and it goes back to 1992. - Alternative Press Index and Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Covers international and interdisciplinary issues of cultural, economic, political & social change. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary database which offers non-mainstream viewpoints from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- Dart Center for Journalism and TraumaProvides a professional forum for journalists in all media to analyze issues, share knowledge and ideas, and advance strategies related to the craft of reporting on violence and tragedy.
- Journalist's ResourceBased at Harvard’s Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy, the Journalist’s Resource project examines news topics through a research lens.
- Journalist's ToolboxInformation gathered by the Society of Professional Journalists.
- NiemanReportsNieman Reports is a website and quarterly print publication covering thought leadership in journalism. Its editorial mission is: “to promote and elevate the standards of journalism.”
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dictionary, language reference, quotation, and subject reference works from all areas.
- Oxford English DictionaryGuide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of two million entries across Oxford University Presss dictionaries, biographies, companions and encyclopedias spanning 25 core subject areas. Access limited to 1 user.
Request Materials
- Request a PurchasePurchase requests are evaluated based on the Libraries' collection development policy and the availability of funds. Materials that support the research, teaching, and learning needs of students, faculty and staff at the University of Montana will be given first priority. We will contact you individually if your purchase request is denied.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)If we don't have a book, article or item, we can borrow it from another library!