Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Books and Other Items in the Library
Many items in the library are arranged by call number (the number on the sticker on the spine of the item). Try browsing the call numbers in these ranges for Industrial Technology:
- Soldering and Welding Equipment: 621.977
- Riveting and Welding: 623.8432
- Metalworking: 671
- Welding: 671.52-672.52
- Building and Green Building Materials: 691
- Carpentry and Wood Construction: 694
- Heating, Ventilating, Air Conditioning: 697
The library also has some journals in print, though most are available only online.
- Fine Homebuilding
- Home Shop Machinist
- Journal of Light Construction
- Machinists Workshop
- Motor Trend
- Nuts and Volts
- Popular Mechanics
- Popular Science
- Science News
- Technology Review
- This Old House
- Welding Journal
Suggested Library Resources for Industrial Technology
The Department of Industrial Technology offers programs in Commercial Driver's License Training (CDL), Diesel Technology, Facilities Management, Heavy Equipment, Precision Machine Technology, Sustainable Construction, and Welding. The library provides resources both online and in print to support these programs.
Use your NetID and password to access library databases off campus.
Academic Search Complete
Full text scholarly journal, trade publication, magazine and newspaper articles, books, book reviews, reports, and Associated Press video content, covering all subject areas.
Continuously updated full text collection of over 880 general and subject specific titles from 116 publishers with particular emphasis on encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center
Full text of Clymer repair manuals; consists of step-by-step maintenance and repair instructions for hundreds of small engine machines and their supporting components.
Vocational & Career Collection
Full text articles from nearly 350 trade and industry periodicals relevant to vocational studies.
Developing a Research Question
1. Select a topic that genuinely interests you. Look at course readings, class notes, Google, Wikipedia, CQ Researcher or Credo Reference for initial ideas.
2. Consider the scope of your topic. If it is too narrow, you might have trouble finding enough information. If it is too broad, you might be overwhelmed with information.
- Think about your assignment prompt while determining the scope of your topic. It is important to consider the size of the assignment and the length of time you have to complete it when thinking about scope.
3. Turn your focused topic into a research question. Know that your research question may change depending on what sorts of resources you find. While you should have a topic or question in mind, allow the sources you find, along with your interests, to help shape and refine your topic further.
Questions to guide the development of your research question:
- Is it focused enough to be covered in my paper or project?
- Is there enough literature available on this topic?
- What is the question that my research is answering?
- Am I genuinely interested in this topic?
- Is my topic going to be new and interesting to my audience?
Ask Us! We're Here to Help
Chat with a Librarian
Use the Chat in the lower right corner of library webpages, from 10am-4pm Monday-Friday during spring semester. Submit questions using the Email a Librarian link outside of those hours.
Ask a Librarian
We will respond to messages within 24-48 hours Monday-Friday.
Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Instagram