Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where Good Ideas Come From
Important Campus Resources
Office of Research and Creative Scholarship
Campus office that can help answer questions about intellectual property, copyright and making sure that your GLI group members are all aware of important real-world implications of your projects.
Human Subjects Review
The UM Institutional Review Board (IRB) for the Protection of Human Subjects in Research reviews projects in accordance with the federal definitions of research and human subjects. For detailed clarification and examples, please refer to the downloadable Guide posted below. Investigators should err on the side of caution and consult with the IRB to establish the status of their projects.
The Blackstone LaunchPad at the University of Montana helps students, alumni, faculty, and staff turn their ideas, skill and passions into real world businesses and non-profit organizations.
GLI Capstone and DHC Honors Projects
Students in both the Franke GLI and DHC can use their GLI Capstone project to fulfill their DHC Capstone requirement. The DHC website provides guidance on their proposal and reflection requirements and you can contact them with questions.
For More Information
Check out the GLI website or contact Jeanne Loftus, Director, Franke Global Leadership Initiative, for more information.
The Literature Review Process
Depending on your topic, different library resources will be useful. A list of some library databases related to previous GLI capstone projects is below; email Kate Zoellner for subject-specific recommendations or consult the Research Guides for guidance.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since its founding in 1947, together with selected works published by affiliated organizations.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Full text titles from around the world (1960-present), including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It incorporates specialized, editorially-curated abstracting and indexing resources as well as the AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and content previously available in ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journal and magazine articles, dissertations, standards of practice, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and more with indexing back to 1937. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Diversity Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains full text databases Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch and Alt-PressWatch in one platform.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Index to journals, books, and monographs in the fields of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, and affiliated areas of study, from the U.S. and international publishers dating back more than 100 years. Also contains full text for 1200 journals and monographs. Created by the International Academy at Santa Barbara.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Index to education-related scholarly and professional journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, books, and government publications, from 1966-present. Project of the U.S. Department of Education.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Index to publications from over 100 countries in 52 languages in public health and biomedical research, from 1973-present. Produced by The Centre for Biosciences and Agriculture International (CABI). Access limited to 4 users.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Index to professional and scholarly journals, chapters, books, reports, theses, and dissertations published internationally in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work, from 1967-present. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Indexes MEDLINE, a database of scholarly journal articles in the life sciences with a focus on biomedicine, and additional life science journals and online books. Fields include behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text of 2,500 scholarly journals and over 3,000 book series volumes and reference works, published by Elsevier in the fields of health sciences, life sciences, physical sciences & engineering, and the social sciences & humanities. Library licenses most ScienceDirect journals offered, including archival content dating back to volume 1 for many titles. Other than volumes published as part of book series, the library has minimal licensed books.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to over 1,300 serials, abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage is 1979-present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to the international journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 750 core serials publications, as well as abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Coverage 1975-present.
Tools for Effective Collaboration
Managing Your Research
RefWorks This link opens in a new window
Web-based bibliographic research management, writing, and collaboration tool. Designed for researchers to gather, organize, store and share all types of information and to generate formatted citations and bibliographies.
Writing and Sharing Documents
Word-like program that allows multiple and simultaneous editing. Supports Refworks!
Microsoft Office 365 ProPlus
UM students have free access to the full Microsoft Office 365 suite, which includes Access, Word, Excel, Powerpoint, etc. PC and Mac versions are available.
Secure storage space that allows group users to store, edit and save drafts. Supports many different file types.
A messaging app for teams. Organize team conversations in open channels. Make a channel for a project, a topic, a team, or anything—everyone has a transparent view of all that’s going on.
Project management tool that assists with planning, organizing and managing group work.
Scheduling tool that allows multiple users to indicate availability.
Group scheduling tool--online and free!
Team contracts can help your capstone group set common expectations and ground rules for your project work. Some examples are included below.
Franke GLI Capstone Project Funding
The Franke GLI has a small budget to support expenses related to capstone projects. Teams must submit this form by December 9 to inform GLI that they do not need funding for the project or to submit a proposal with a justification and line-item budget.
GLI Capstone Syllabi Templates
These template syllabi are given to all GLI capstone mentors, who will customize it by including additional resources, tasks, policies, and a schedule specific to their team.