Books
Here are just a few of the many books we have in the library--use OneSearch to search for additional titles!
-
The Elements of Style
by
The Elements of Style (1918), by William Strunk, Jr., and E..B. White, is an American English writing style guide. It is the best-known, most influential prescriptive treatment of English grammar and usage, and often is required reading and usage in U.S. high school and university composition classes. This edition of The Elements of Style details eight elementary rules of usage, ten elementary principles of composition, "a few matters of form," and a list of commonly misused words and expressions.
Call Number: Payne Family Library 808.042 S9278e 2008Publication Date: 2008 -
Key Concepts in Creative Writing
by
A comprehensive writers' guide to the terminology used across the creative writing industries and in the major literary movements. Packed with practical tips for honing writing skills and identifying opportunities for publication and production, it also explains the workings of publishing houses, literary agencies and producing theatres.
Call Number: Level 2 808.02 M881KPublication Date: 2010 -
Once upon a Time in the Twenty-First Century: Unexpected Exercises in Creative Writing
Call Number: EbookPublication Date: 2020 -
Oxford American Writer's Thesaurus
by
This brand new thesaurus from Oxford, the most trusted name in reference, is the first to be developed by writers, for writers.In addition to the more than 300,000 synonyms and 10,000 antonyms found in the thesaurus, each of our distinguished editorial board members (including David Auburn, Michael Dirda, David Lehman, Stephin Merritt, Francine Prose, Zadie Smith, Jean Strouse, David Foster Wallace, and Simon Winchester)has contributed frank, funny, thoughtful, and, most of all, word-wise mini-essays on words that they particularly love, hate, admire, or are just plain puzzled by.Even more helpful for writers in search of the perfect word, this new thesaurus contains nearly two hundred word banks, collections of nouns to add exact detail to your writing. (Was it just bread, or was it chapatti, rye, dal, or pita?) Brand-new word spectrums show where your word falls in a linebetween two polar opposites (passable is three-quarters of the way from beautiful to ugly).Other features include quick guides to easily confused words; helpful, real-world usage guidance to tricky sticking points of grammar and word choice; and careful, expert distinctions among awkward synonyms.All Oxford American dictionaries use an easy-to-use respelling system to show how entries are pronounced. It uses simple, familiar markings to represent common American English sounds.The Oxford American Writer's Thesaurus will unlock the power of language and is certain to be the thesaurus that says on the desk--and stays open.
Call Number: Level 2 423.12 L7426oPublication Date: 2004 -
-
-
-
Views from the Loft
by
Teachers, exercises, mentors, critiques, humor, and inspiration: these form the fuel all writers need when they get down to work every day. For decades the Loft Literary Center has provided this fuel to an enormous community of writers.Views from the Loft brings together the collected wisdom of that community -- its authors, students, and editors -- giving anyone the tools and inspiration necessary to thrive in the writing life. A who's who of writers on writing ranging from the National Book Award-winning poet Mark Doty to Newbery medal-winning children's author Kate DiCamillo, and touching on issues as delicate as the representation of family in memoir and as hilarious as a "sad-epiphany poem" mad lib for frustrated poets, this book is an essential collection of crucial tips and challenging questions for everyone who puts pen to page. The essays and interviews in this book include superstar writers like Rick Bass, Michael Cunningham, Grace Paley, Susan Power, Susan Straight, Marilyn Hacker, and many, many more.
Call Number: Level 2 808.02 V671 and EBookPublication Date: 2010 -
-
-
The Writer's MarketCall Number: Information Center 808.028 W9561Publication Date: most recent edition
Reference Resources
-
Bloomsbury Thesaurus"Full of synonyms, alternatives, and a fascinating network of cross-references, reflecting both technical and day-to-day aspects of Modern English. It is designed to appeal to both established word-reference enthusiasts and younger users who are just beginning to explore the language."
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Continuously updated full text collection of over 1,300 general and subject specific titles from 121 publishers with particular emphasis on encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks.
-
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Complete text of the 20-volume Oxford English Dictionary, including current definitions as well as the historical development of individual words and the English language.
-
Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Full text of two million entries from Oxford University Press’s dictionaries, biographies, companions, and encyclopedias, covering 25 core subject areas. Access limited to 1 user at a time. See more… for access tips.
-
WorldNet: A Lexical Database for English"WordNet® is a large lexical database of English. Nouns, verbs, adjectives and adverbs are grouped into sets of cognitive synonyms (synsets), each expressing a distinct concept. Synsets are interlinked by means of conceptual-semantic and lexical relations."
Select Sources for Publishing Creative Works
-
Literary MagazinesConnect your poems, stories, essays, and reviews to the right audiences by researching over eight hundred literary magazines.
-
Poets & WritersClassifieds Section: Writing contests, conferences, workshops, editing services, calls for submissions, and more.
-
Association of Writers and Writing ProgramsAWP provides community, opportunities, ideas, news, and advocacy for writers and teachers.
-
OvalThe undergraduate literary magazine of the University of Montana.
-
CutBankThe University of Montana’s foremost literary magazine, founded in 1973 by the Creative Writing program.
-
Camas Magazine"Founded by Environmental Studies graduate students at the University of Montana in 1992, Camas is a student-run biannual literary magazine. Camas aims to cultivate fresh ideas and perspectives while remaining rooted in the landscapes and traditions of art and literature in the American West."
-
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Directory of journals in the field of English language, including language, literature, folklore, and pedagogy, compiled and updated by the Modern Language Association.
-
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
An international directory featuring over 300,000 publications, including academic journals, mainstream magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more."