Creative Writing Research Guide

ARTstor on JSTOR 
Existing ARTstor logins automatically work on JSTOR. The separate artstor.org platform will be available until Aug 1, 2024, when it is scheduled to be retired.

Open Access books on JSTOR
More than 10,000 open access (OA) books from 125+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, University College of London, and University of California Press.

19th Century British Pamphlets
Nearly 26,000 pamphlets from collections in seven universities spanning more than one million pages. Brings together a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain.

New Collections Added Aug 2023
Thematic Collections
Three collections focusing on emerging areas of research and containing multiple types of content, including journals and open research reports. Collections include: 
•Lives of Literature - Academic journals devoted to the deep study of writers and texts associated with core literary movements. 
•Security Studies - Academic and open policy research on international and national security problems and foreign policy issues. 
•Sustainability - Academic and open policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens spanning more than 30 disciplines.

Primary Sources
Global Plants
A growing collection of nearly three million high-resolution type plant specimens and related materials from over 300 community contributors around the world.

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
27,000 objects and 190,000 pages of documents and images related to the liberation struggles and end of Apartheid in Southern Africa during the 20th Century, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.

World Heritage Sites: Africa
More than 86,000 objects of visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage and rock art sites.

 

ProQuest One Literature searches these literature collections. Use the Literature collection filter within the ProQuest interface to select individual modules to include in your search. 

• African American Poetry: The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American to the major poets of the nineteenth century.
• African Writers Series: Key texts of modern African literature published in the Heinemann's African Writers Series since 1962.
• American Drama (1714-1915): Over 1,500 American dramatic works.
• American Poetry: Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.
• Bertolt Brechts Werke: The dramatic, poetical and theoretical texts of Bertolt Brecht (1898 - 1956).
• Black Short Fiction and Folklore: 82,000 pages and more than 11,000 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present.
• Black Women Writers: 100,000 pages of literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora.
• Canadian Poetry: 19,000 poems by 177 poets from the eighteenth century to the early twentieth.
• Caribbean Literature: Literature produced by descendants of the African, Indian, and South Asian populations brought to the Caribbean between the 15th and 19th centuries.\
• Die Deutsche Lyrik in Reclams Universal-Bibliothek: Almost 500 years of German lyric poetry and includes the work of over 500 authors from the 15th to the 20th century.
• Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker: Series published since 1981, covers the works of more than thirty German authors spanning eleven centuries.
• Early American Fiction (1789-1875): Full text of 875 first editions of American novels and short stories.
• Early English Prose Fiction (1500-1700): More than 200 works from the period 1500–1700, exploring English prose fiction in the period preceding the emergence of the realist novel as its dominant form.
• Eighteenth-Century Fiction (1700-1780): 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780, by writers from the British Isles.
• English Drama: More than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English.
• English Poetry (1700-1780): Essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th.
• English Poetry, Second Edition: Comprehensive canon of English poetry of the British Isles and the British Empire from the 8th century to the early 20th, and representing more than 2,700 poets.
• The Faber Poetry Library (1925-1999): Collection of fifty of the most influential poets of the twentieth century, includes the poetry of Thom Gunn, Siegfried Sassoon, T.S. Eliot, Ted Hughes, Sylvia Plath, Wendy Cope and Seamus Heaney.
• Goethes Werke: Complete text of the Weimar Edition of the works of Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832).
• Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period: More than 80 volumes of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842.
• Kafkas Werke: A critical edition of the complete works of Franz Kafka (1883-1924), Franz Kafka, Kritische Ausgabe, Schriften und Tagebücher.
• Latin American Women Writers: 100,000 pages of literary works, along with memoirs and essays, in their original language, by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present.
• Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction: 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays.
• Literary Theory: Works that have had a significant bearing on English and American traditions of theory and criticism, or which have influenced contemporary theoretical debate in the English-speaking world.
• Nineteenth-Century Fiction (1782-1903): 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s.
• Schillers Werke: Schillers Werke. Nationalausgabe, presents the works of Friedrich Schiller (1759-1805), German playwright, poet, and philosopher.
• Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period: 60 volumes of Romantic poetry composed by Scottish women, includes contemporary criticism and essays.
• South and Southeast Asian Literature in English: Thousands of pages of English-language fiction, short fiction, and poems written from the end of the colonial era to the present.
• Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro: Full text of the most important dramatic works of sixteenth and seventeenth century Spain - more than 800 plays written by 16 dramatists.
• Twentieth-Century African American Poetry (1901-1999): Modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century.
• Twentieth-Century American Poetry (1901-2000): 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets.
• Twentieth-Century American Poetry, Second Edition: Over 100,000 poems representing the full range of American poetry of the last century.
• Twentieth-Century Drama: Essential collection of published plays from throughout the English-speaking world, covering the history of modern drama from the 1890s to the present day.
• Twentieth-Century English Poetry: A collection of 598 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to 2000.
• The W.B. Yeats Collection: Contains the author's major works in all genres, including poetry, plays, criticism, and fiction, collected in 22 volumes.

ProQuest One Literature searches these literature collections. Use the Literature collection filter within the ProQuest interface to select individual modules to include in your search. 

• African American Poetry: The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American to the major poets of the nineteenth century.
• African Writers Series: Key texts of modern African literature published in the Heinemann's African Writers Series since 1962.
• American Drama (1714-1915): Over 1,500 American dramatic works.
• American Poetry: Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.
• Bertolt Brechts Werke: The dramatic, poetical and theoretical texts of Bertolt Brecht (1898 - 1956).
• Black Short Fiction and Folklore: 82,000 pages and more than 11,000 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present.
• Black Women Writers: 100,000 pages of literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora.
• Canadian Poetry: 19,000 poems by 177 poets from the eighteenth century to the early twentieth.
• Caribbean Literature: Literature produced by descendants of the African, Indian, and South Asian populations brought to the Caribbean between the 15th and 19th centuries.\
• Die Deutsche Lyrik in Reclams Universal-Bibliothek: Almost 500 years of German lyric poetry and includes the work of over 500 authors from the 15th to the 20th century.
• Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker: Series published since 1981, covers the works of more than thirty German authors spanning eleven centuries.
• Early American Fiction (1789-1875): Full text of 875 first editions of American novels and short stories.
• Early English Prose Fiction (1500-1700): More than 200 works from the period 1500–1700, exploring English prose fiction in the period preceding the emergence of the realist novel as its dominant form.
• Eighteenth-Century Fiction (1700-1780): 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780, by writers from the British Isles.
• English Drama: More than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English.
• English Poetry (1700-1780): Essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th.
• English Poetry, Second Edition: Comprehensive canon of English poetry of the British Isles and the British Empire from the 8th century to the early 20th, and representing more than 2,700 poets.
• The Faber Poetry Library (1925-1999): Collection of fifty of the most influential poets of the twentieth century, includes the poetry of Thom Gunn, Siegfried Sassoon, T.S. Eliot, Ted Hughes, Sylvia Plath, Wendy Cope and Seamus Heaney.
• Goethes Werke: Complete text of the Weimar Edition of the works of Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832).
• Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period: More than 80 volumes of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842.
• Kafkas Werke: A critical edition of the complete works of Franz Kafka (1883-1924), Franz Kafka, Kritische Ausgabe, Schriften und Tagebücher.
• Latin American Women Writers: 100,000 pages of literary works, along with memoirs and essays, in their original language, by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present.
• Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction: 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays.
• Literary Theory: Works that have had a significant bearing on English and American traditions of theory and criticism, or which have influenced contemporary theoretical debate in the English-speaking world.
• Nineteenth-Century Fiction (1782-1903): 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s.
• Schillers Werke: Schillers Werke. Nationalausgabe, presents the works of Friedrich Schiller (1759-1805), German playwright, poet, and philosopher.
• Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period: 60 volumes of Romantic poetry composed by Scottish women, includes contemporary criticism and essays.
• South and Southeast Asian Literature in English: Thousands of pages of English-language fiction, short fiction, and poems written from the end of the colonial era to the present.
• Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro: Full text of the most important dramatic works of sixteenth and seventeenth century Spain - more than 800 plays written by 16 dramatists.
• Twentieth-Century African American Poetry (1901-1999): Modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century.
• Twentieth-Century American Poetry (1901-2000): 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets.
• Twentieth-Century American Poetry, Second Edition: Over 100,000 poems representing the full range of American poetry of the last century.
• Twentieth-Century Drama: Essential collection of published plays from throughout the English-speaking world, covering the history of modern drama from the 1890s to the present day.
• Twentieth-Century English Poetry: A collection of 598 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to 2000.
• The W.B. Yeats Collection: Contains the author's major works in all genres, including poetry, plays, criticism, and fiction, collected in 22 volumes.