Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

1. Start Broad and Narrow Down

• Begin with a broad search to get a general overview of your topic.
• Look for subtopics that interest you and can be explored in more detail.

2. Identify Keywords and Use Search Techniques

• Select terms that accurately represent your topic.
• Use Boolean operators 
  • AND: Finds articles containing both keywords, narrowing your search ("climate change" AND "sea level")
  • OR: Finds articles with at least one of the keywords ("climate change" OR "global warming")
  • NOT: Excludes specific terms from your search ("climate change" NOT "sea level")
• Phrase Searching: Use quotation marks to search for exact phrases ("social media")

3. Exploring Encyclopedia Features 

• Utilize advanced search options: Many online encyclopedias and databases offer advanced search features to narrow search results by date, format, subject, and other criteria.
• Look for subject headings: These terms are used in databases to describes the articles topic and can help you find more relevant information.
• Follow internal links and related media: Many online encyclopedias provide links to related topics, expanding your research.

Information Needs

• Background information: General encyclopedias are excellent for getting a basic understanding of a topic, its key concepts, and important dates or events.
• Detailed analysis: Specialized encyclopedias provide more detailed analysis and discussion of specific concepts within a field of study.
• Scholarly articles: If you need highly detailed or scholarly information, specialized encyclopedias are often more appropriate, as their articles are frequently more scholarly and written by experts in the field.
• Finding further sources: Both types of encyclopedias can be helpful for finding additional sources. General encyclopedias might provide a brief bibliography, while specialized encyclopedias often include more extensive bibliographies or lists of references, directing you to other valuable resources.

Accessibility and Format:

• Availability: Consider the encyclopedias available to you through your library or online.
• Print vs. Online:
  • Print: Provide a physical experience and can be browsed in the reference section.
  • Online: Offer easy accessibility, searchability, and often include multimedia content and hyperlinks. However, it's important to verify information found in user-editable online encyclopedias with other reliable sources.
• Library Resources: Your library's catalog or a librarian can help you identify specialized encyclopedias relevant to your topic.

A simple tutorial describing how to evaluate sources during your research