Research Guides: Cellular & Molecular Biology, Genetics, Microbiology Research Guide: Home

Start Here / Best Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the world's leading peer reviewed journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and provides searching of cited references, from 1900-present. Install the LibKey Nomad extension to improve your research experience.

Google Scholar
Scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes MEDLINE, a database of scholarly journal articles in the life sciences with a focus on biomedicine, and additional life science journals and online books. Fields include behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Install the LibKey Nomad extension to improve your research experience.

Other Relevant Databases

For an outline of a comprehensive science literature review, click here: Science Literature Review.

For tips on improving database search results, click here: Improving Database Search Results.

Suggested databases:

IndexCat
Index Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office, 1880-1961.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to chemical substances and reactions, as well as journal articles, patents, conference papers, dissertations, reports, and more, in chemistry and related sciences. Users new to SciFinder should see more... for details on completing the one-time registration. Current users in need of account assistance or help regaining access to an expired login should contact help@cas.org.
Click here to complete the initial registration for SciFinder Note that first-time registration requires a valid UM email address. See also: UM email support page for students OR UM email support page for faculty and staff

Journals

Search specialized journals when looking for articles on your research topic. Some suggested browsing examples to look at are

To browse journal titles, click here: Mansfield Library Journals.

Browse or search ejournal packages (NOTE: Some allow keyword searching of article full text):

American Society for Microbiology E-journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of ASM's 16 journals covering fundamental and applied research in the microbiological sciences, from the initial journal publication dates-present.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text journal review articles synthesizing current research and understandings in science and social science disciplines. Complete archives-present provided for most AR titles. NOTE: This Ejournal Package was cancelled beginning Jan 2021. Click more... for details.
Package title list: Annual Reviews
See the Library Guide to Finding Articles for information about the cancellations and other resources for obtaining full text.
Post-2020 perpetual access will include:
• Volume 1 through 2020.
Journals@Ovid LWW Total Access Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 300 medical and nursing journals published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW), from initial publication-present for many titles.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of 2,500 scholarly journals and over 3,000 book series volumes and reference works, published by Elsevier in the fields of health sciences, life sciences, physical sciences & engineering, and the social sciences & humanities. Library licenses most ScienceDirect journals offered, including archival content dating back to volume 1 for many titles. Other than volumes published as part of book series, the library has minimal licensed books.
Springer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 50,000 scholarly e-books published by Springer 2005-2015, and over 2,200 current e-journals, with coverage dating back to volume 1 for many titles. Subjects include: biomedicine; business and management; chemistry; computer science; earth sciences; economics; education; engineering; geography; history; law; life sciences; literature; materials science; mathematics; medicine & public health; pharmacy; philosophy; physics; political science and international relations; psychology; social sciences; statistics. Deselect 'Include Preview-Only' from the top of a subject or content page to limit browsing to titles licensed by the library. NOTE: This Ejournal Package was cancelled beginning Jan 2021. Click more... for details.
Ejournal package title list: Springer
See the Library Guide to Finding Articles for information about the cancellations and other resources for obtaining full text.
Post-2020 perpetual access will include:
•All titles in the collection as of 2010 from Volume I through 1996.
•No perpetual access for 1997 to 2005.
•Perpetual access to all titles for 2006-2020.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1,600 e-journals covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Coverage is generally 1997-present. The library does not license all content offered on the Wiley site. The 'Full Access' lock icon denotes content available to UM users.

Peer Review in 3 Minutes
How do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication? This video will explain.
Video: Types of Sources
Watch the video for an explanation of types of information sources

To evaluate, compare, and rank journals using citation data, click on Journal Citation Reports and/or Scimago.

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Resource tool for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 11,000 journals dating back to 1997 and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Shows journal impact factors, highest impact journals, most frequently used journals, hottest journals and largest journals.

Book Catalogs

WorldCat (Discovery) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Catalog of library resources held by institutions around the world. Find materials and place interlibrary loan requests for resources not owned locally.
WorldCat on the former FirstSearch platform is available from http://libguides.lib.umt.edu/worldcat-firstsearch

Google Book Search
Snippet and full-text views of books as they are scanned by the Google Book Project.
Bookshelf
Life science and health care.

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The search engine for materials owned by the library, both on the shelf and online. Also provides millions of full text article and citation records harvested from publishers, open access repositories, and a large percentage of the library's licensed databases. Click here to view a list of databases with content not findable or only partially findable in OneSearch.
Tip: Remember to check "Include Results without Full Text" in the left-hand facets of OneSearch to expand your results set to citations matching your research interests; full-text can be acquired through interlibrary loan and delivered to you free of charge in a short amount of time.

For a detailed view of Dewey Decimal call numbers, click on: Dewey Decimal Classification Summaries.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology
Comprehensive Chemometrics - online reference for chemical and biochemical data analysis.
Encyclopedia of Bioprocess Technology (660.6 E5636)
Encyclopedia of Evolution (576.803 E5641)
Encyclopedia of Genetics (576.5 E5642)
Encyclopedia of Microbiology - online encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology (572.8 C914e)
Encyclopedia of the Human Genome (611.0181603 N2857)
Encyclopedia of Virology
Genes and Diseases
Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes (KEGG)
NetAnatomy - human anatomy instruction and learning resource
The Prokaryotes
Senses: A Comprehensive Reference - more than 300 articles covering the perception, psychophysics and processing of sensory information, as well as disorders and new diagnostic and treatment methods, for all major sensory modalities: vision, audition, olfaction and taste, pain, and somatosensation
Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms (NIH)
Tree of Life Web Project - information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history.
Wikipedia - an encyclopedia that is written and edited anonymously and collaboratively

Grants and Funding Sources

Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new window
Directory of 108,000 foundations, corporate giving programs and grant-making public charities in the U.S.; a database of three million recently awarded grants; and a database of one million recently filed IRS forms 990 and 990-PF.
Foundation Grants to Individuals This link opens in a new window
Directory of close to 10,000 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grant seekers. Covers scholarships, fellowships, loans, and internships; awards, prizes, and grants by nomination; research and professional support; and general welfare and special needs.

NIH Grant Awards

Web Sites - Search Engines

Some suggested search engines are:

Web Sites - Meta Sites & Directories

American Society for Microbiology
BioChemWeb
Bioethics.net
BioMed Central (BMC)
BRENDA - enzyme information system
Computational Biology at NIH
ExPASy Bioinformatics Resource Portal
Genome Browser (UCSC)
Lipidomics Gateway
OMIM: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man
Phylip - a free package of programs for inferring phylogenies
PubChem
Virology on the WWW

Citation Guides

Here are some resources to help you manage your bibliographies:

RefWorks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based bibliographic research management, writing, and collaboration tool. Designed for researchers to gather, organize, store and share all types of information and to generate formatted citations and bibliographies.

Users may continue to access the Legacy version of RefWorks from here through 6.18.23. Users still using the legacy site can upgrade their account to the new RefWorks on their own or wait until 6.19.23, when their account will be automatically upgraded. See more... for details about completing the upgrade.
Upgrade instructions
To perform your own upgrade, select the Upgrade to the latest RefWorks version button that appears when you are logged into your account on legacy RefWorks. Select this button and follow any on-screen instructions. Your account is upgraded automatically, and your references, attachments, folders, and custom citation styles are copied to your (new) RefWorks account. You can choose to import the references into an existing project or into a new project.

If you do perform an upgrade, please email library.serials@umontana.edu to let us know so that we can remove your account from the migration list.

Related Library Guides

Chemistry and Biochemistry

Conservation Genetics

Ecology and Wildlife Biology

Pharmacy Information Resources

Public Health Information Resources

Need Help?

Barry Brown

Email Me

Contact:

Barry Brown

Science Librarian

Head, Access & Collection Services

Mansfield Library, The University of Montana

32 Campus Drive. #9936

Missoula, MT 59812-9936

406-243-6811; Office ML 327

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Computer Science, Ecosystem and Conservation Sciences, Environmental Studies, Forest Management, Geosciences, Mathematical Sciences, Physics and Astronomy, Resource Conservation, Society and Conservation, Wildlife Biology

Maureen and Mike Mansfield Library

Cellular & Molecular Biology, Genetics, Microbiology Research Guide: Home