Research Guides: Geosciences Research Guide: Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Alphabetical Mineral Reference
Bibliography of Theses in Geology (550 C557b)
The CRB Commodity Yearbook (338.0973 C7341)
Dictionary of Geological Terms (550.3 A512g)
Dictionary of Mining, Mineral, and Related Terms (622.03 D5546)
Earth Observatory
Earthquake Hazards (USGS)
Earthquake Studies (MBMG)
Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences - Covers the understanding and management of fresh water resources.
The Encyclopedia of Igneous & Metamorphic Petrology (550.3 E56 v.5)
The Encyclopedia of Mineralogy (550.3 E56 v.4)
Encyclopedia of Earth
Encyclopedia of Earth System Science (550.3 E566)
Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes (551.203 R598)
Encyclopedia of European & Asian Regional Geology (554 E5636)
Encyclopedia of Geochemistry (551.903 E5642)
Encyclopedia of Inland Waters - Online encyclopedia covering the biology, chemistry, geology, and physics of inland aquatic habitats worldwide at all scales from marshes and swamps to ponds, lakes, streams and rivers.
Encyclopedia of Minerals (549.03 R648e)
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences (Second Edition) - Online encyclopedia covering the biology, chemistry, geology, and physics of the oceans.
Encyclopedia of Paleontology (560.03 E5645)
Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment - Online encyclopedia covering the biology, ecology, chemistry and physics of the world's variegated soils and their origins, properties, classification, and roles in the biosphere.
Facts on File Dictionary of Earth Science (550 F1428)
Geographic Names (United States)
Geologic Guidebooks of North America
Geological Map Database (USGS)
Geological Time Machine
Geologists & the History of Time (550.9 X S245g v.1-5)
Glosary of Geology (550.3 G244g)
Ground Water Atlas of the U.S.
Guide to USGS Geologic & Hydrologic Maps (557.3 X G946- Lv.1)
Handbook of Physical Properties of Rocks (552.06 H236 v.1-3)
InciWeb - Incident Information System - Flooding
Information Sources in the Earth Sciences (550.7 X W874u)
A Manual of New Mineral Names, 1892-1978 (549.03 M294)
Map Locator (USGS)
Mineral Industry Surveys (USGS)
Minerals Information (USGS)
Minerals Yearbook (USGS)
Montana, Geologic Map
Montana Water
Montana Water Data
Montana Yellowstone Geologic Field Guide Database
National Park Geology
Paleobiology Database
Practical Handbook of Physical Properties of Rocks and Minerals (552 P895)
Randol Mining Directory (338.2 R1921)
Statistical Abstract of the United States - Statistics on social and economic conditions.
Surf Your Watershed (USGS)
Treatise on Geochemistry - Online reference work covering all major subjects in the field of geochemistry ranging from the chemistry of the solar system to environmental geochemistry.
UN Water
Visible Earth
U.S. Bureau of Mining Publications, 1910-1994 (I 8.5 -Lv.1)
U.S. Energy Information Administration
The Water Encyclopedia (553.7 T633w)
Water Resources Conditions (USGS)
Water Resources of Montana (USGS)
Water Resource of the U.S. (USGS)
Wikipedia - An encyclopedia that is written & edited anonymously & collaboratively.