Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's This Page for?
On this page you'll find some quality links to web pages and resources dealing with Native American Studies and issues of interest.
This is a great place to look for broad and general information.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (formerly Bibliography of Native North Americans) This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, books, essays, and government documents from the U.S. and Canada covering Native North American culture, history, and daily life, from the 16th century-present. NOTE: The database adopted a new name on 4/29/22. The content remains the same.
North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 119,000 digitized pages of biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories on the indigenous peoples of North America.
HeinOnline: American Indian Law Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text American Indian Law related treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence. Access provided by the UM Law School.
American Indian and Native Alaskan Health
On this page, you'll find links to health issues that affect American Indians and Alaska Natives.
Federal Websites for/about Native Americans
This website compiles dozens of useful links, including information about census data, wildlife, education, gaming, health, and more.
The U.S. Department of the Interior Indian Affairs manages of 55.7 million acres of land held in trust by the United States for American Indians, Indian tribes, and Alaska Natives.
Montana Office of Public Instruction site with lots of information on this state initiative.
Indian Health Service
The Indian Health Service (IHS), an agency within the Department of Health and Human Services, is responsible for providing federal health services to American Indians and Alaska Natives.
Montana Tribes Digital Archives
An educational resource for Montana teachers and citizens.
National Museum of the American Indian
The National Museum of the American Indian is the sixteenth museum of the Smithsonian Institution. It is the first national museum dedicated to the preservation, study, and exhibition of the life, languages, literature, history, and arts of Native America.
The Rez We Live On
The truth behind common misperceptions about life on the Flathead Reservation in Montana, home to the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes.
Historic Web Resources and Digital Collections
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection
This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics. These cultures have occupied, and in some cases still live in parts of Alaska, British Columbia, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana. Maps are available that show traditional territories or reservation boundaries.
Offers descriptions of archival and manuscript materials held by institutions in Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Alaska, Montana, and Utah
Historic Char-Koosta News
Digitized Char-Koosta News, 1956-19??
Indian-Pioneer Papers Collection
The Indian-Pioneer Papers oral history collection spans 1861-1936. It includes typescripts of interviews conducted during the 1930s by government workers with thousands of Oklahomans regarding the settlement of Oklahoma and Indian territories, as well as the condition and conduct of life there. Consisting of approximately 80,000 entries, the index to this collection may be accessed via personal name, place name, or subject.
The Indian Sentinel, 1902-1962
Digitized by Marquette University, The Indian Sentinel was the official publication of the Society for the Preservation of the Faith among Indian Children, and features articles about evangelization of Native Americans.
National Archives Flathead Irrigation Project Archives
This is a series of photographic prints and glass negatives documenting investigations and construction on various units of the Flathead Irrigation Project. Photographs are part of Record Group 75: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Flathead Irrigation Office. Accession 8NS-75-97-221; Glass Plates, Negatives, and Photographs, 1911-1939.
New York State Library Native American Materials
The New York State Library holds a wealth of first-hand descriptions of the Native American experience in New York. These resources span four centuries, beginning with the Dutch colony of New Netherland and continuing to the close of the American frontier in western New York and beyond. Original manuscripts and published accounts provide windows to Native American life and serve as lenses through which cultural and historical interpretations can be made.
Walter McClintock Lantern Slides
This website compiles 100 images from the Beinecke Library at Yale University. This extraordinary collection of photos from the 19th and 20th centuries will continue to grow as new images are added.
Ask Us! We're Here to Help
Chat with a Librarian
Use the Chat in the lower right corner of library webpages, from 10am-4pm Monday-Friday during summer sessions. Submit questions using the Email a Librarian link outside of those hours.
Ask a Librarian
We will respond to messages within 24-48 hours Monday-Friday.
Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Instagram