Native American Studies Research Guide

The Mansfield Library provides an array of information resources, services, and spaces in support of the teaching, learning, and research programs of the University of Montana. These include in-depth research and reference assistance, an instruction program integrated into the university curriculum, full-service computing and media production facilities, and collections that span print and electronic books, journals, media items, databases, government documents and unique materials in Archives and Special Collections.

• Research Assistance: In-person, email, web chat, phone or by appointment
• Checkout: Books, CDs, DVDs, vinyl and music scores, games, and more
• Tech Lending: GoPros, calculators, laptops, cords and adapters
• Tech Support: Computer, email and NetID questions
• Interlibrary Loan: Obtain materials from other libraries
• Paw Print: Convenient print, copy and scan location. Accommodates artwork, 3D printing, production and creation spaces, and large format printing

Library personnel and library technologies and resources provide a breadth of support for your research. Some highlights include:

OneSearch

OneSearch is the search engine for materials owned by the library, both on the shelf and online. Also provides millions of full text article and citation records harvested from publishers, open access repositories, and a large percentage of the library's licensed databases.

Need help getting started? Check out our tips for using OneSearch!

Research Guides

Research Guides are created by librarians and provide subject-specific assistance with links to research resources, as well as research tips and tricks. There are also topic guides for more generalized information, like guidance on Copyright and Data Management as well as Citation Style Guides and Management Tools.

ScholarWorks

ScholarWorks is UM's institutional repository that centralizes, preserves, and provides free, online access to the valuable research, creative scholarship, and unique resources produced and curated by UM faculty, students, and staff. ScholarWorks makes these resources easier to find, share, and use, both expanding the reach and increasing the impact of UM scholarship around the world. ScholarWorks accepts all discrete file types and can therefore accommodate traditional scholarship forms (documents, spreadsheets, presentations, etc.) as well as audio, video, image, and discipline-specific file types and formats.

Information Literacy – Core

Information Literacy – Core (InfoLit – Core) is a collection of online videos, tutorials, and quizzes covering information literacy and critical thinking, as well as related topics and skills. This content can be great for getting a refresher on research skills or stages of the research process.

There are study spaces throughout the library. Some specific areas include:

• Quiet Study Area
• Group Study Rooms
• Individual Study Carrels
• Poetry Corner
• Veteran's Group Study Room
• Family-Friendly Room
• Accessible Technology Room
• East Faculty Office Area

Click here to reserve a study room online.

See the Study Spaces webpage for details on all spaces.

The library is the largest computer lab on campus. You'll find Mac and PC computers with Microsoft Office, as well as multimedia workstations with specialized software, scanners, recording studios (highlighted below), and more. See the Equipment & Software A-Z webpage for details on what is available.