Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Media Arts Articles and Databases
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This is an interdisciplinary database of journals and other periodical resources. It's a good database to begin searching for material on your topic.
Need some articles related to Media Arts? Here are some links to resources to help you get started:
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Provides some coverage of film, television, early digital arts in addition to general visual arts. Dates of coverage 1929-present; full text linking is available for some articles.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
This database specifically deals with modern and contemporary art. You can find content about digital art and film here as well.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Contains film and television theory, preservation, restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Full text linking is available for some articles.
Film Literature Index 1976-2001
This resource is strictly an index, meaning that you will need to locate any articles using our "Journals" search tab on our main Mansfield Library web page. Covers film, television, video, and reviews.
Humanities Full Text
Covers the general humanities, but is worth a look for more interdisciplinary topics within Media Arts.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of over 2,600 scholarly journals and 5,000 open source books covering all subject areas. Embargo for current journal issues of 2-5 years. NOTE: The library's holdings do not include primary source collections or fee-based books.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Very helpful resource to use for finding current information on film, television, and art. Good for reviews. Contains sources such as newspapers, industry press, magazines, and web-based materials.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Helpful for film and television reviews.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Index to over 395 scholarly and popular performing arts journals, plus full text coverage of over 160 of those titles, from 1964-present.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals in the fields of: area and ethnic studies; art and architecture; creative writing; education; film, theater, and performing arts; history; language and linguistics; library science and publishing; literature; medicine and health; music; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and mathematics; social sciences; studies by time period; women's studies, gender, and sexuality.
Readers' Guide Full Text
Although this database has a general coverage scope, you can locate information on actors and directors in the film industry.
Visual and Performing Arts