Research Guides: Arts and Media Research Guide: Sound Recordings

Sound Recordings at the Mansfield Library

The Mansfield Library has over 10,000 CDs, nearly 8,000 LPs, and subscription access to two sound recording databases: NAXOS Music Library and Music Online (NetID required). In this list, I've also included links to Internet sites which may allow you to freely listen to and/or download music covered under Creative Commons licenses.

Equipment for sound recordings

We have the following equipment and software available for sound recordings:

Headphones at the Check Out Desk
CD/DVD burners on many of the NetID computers on Level 3
Record player on Level 3 (will need to check out LP to CD Stylus at Tech Support desk)
Audacity software on all PCs on Level 3
GarageBand software on all Macs on Level 3

Check the Mansfield Library's Equipment and Software A-Z page for a current list of equipment for sound recordings, especially under the "Camera/Audio/Recording", "Media Players", and "Miscellaneous" categories.

Finding Physical Sound Recordings at the Mansfield Library

Use this link to search for physical sound recordings at the Mansfield Library. Here are some search tips to get you started:

Select "UM Physical Items" at the top of the search interface.
Type in a band name, performing group name, performer's name, or composer's name in the first search box.
OPTIONAL: Type in the title of the album, track, or song in the second search box.
Select "Sound Recordings" from the drop down box labeled "Resource Type."
Click on Search, or just hit the "Return/Enter" key.

Sound Recording Databases (NetID Required)

Music Online: Listening This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio collection of over 10 million tracks, with new content added monthly. Provides coverage in breadth and depth across the key musical genres of classical, jazz, world, american, and popular. Access limited to 3 users. See more...for a listing of the genre collections included.
• Classical Music: All major genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde.
• Jazz Music: All major genres including vocal jazz, bebop, acid jazz, big band, modern jazz, and more.
• Contemporary World: Music from more than 160 countries and more than 1,000 cultural groups.
• American Music: Country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B, and shape note singing.
• Popular Music: Wide range of popular music from around the world
• Smithsonian Folkways Recordings: More than 40,000 tracks - the entire output of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
• Smithsonian Global Sound- 9,000+ pages of material and 300 audio recordings, and entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Over 3 million streaming tracks from Naxos and affiliated labels. Includes classical, world, folk, jazz, and Chinese music, and background information about the tracks. Includes tools for creating playlists to be enjoyed by individuals or groups.

Creative Commons-Licensed Sound Recordings on the Open Web

ccMixter
Tracks in this site are covered by CC licenses. Search function may not be the greatest, but they have a large library of music to browse.
Free Music Archive
IMSLP Recordings
IMSLP provides access to public domain scores and has recently added recordings covered by Creative Commons licenses.
Internet Archive: Music Sound Recording Collections
Browse a wealth of music sound recording collections within the Internet Archive.
Jamendo
Sound recordings here are available for free download under Creative Commons Licenses.
Musopen
Sound recordings available from this site, but they could still be under copyright or are under a Creative Commons license. You need to create a free account to access the recordings.