Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Visual and Performing Arts Resources Research Guide: Historical Costume Patterns

Guide to Mansfield Library resources in Art, Dance, Drama, Media Arts, and Music.

Quick Links to Guides

Historical Costume Patterns

There are several areas of the library to browse when researching historical costume patterns:

* 391 (Costume, personal appearance on level 2 of the library)

* 646.4 (Costume design, technical aspects on level 5 of the library)

* 792.026 (Costume for the stage on level 4 of the library)

Here are some examples of items you'll find under each call number range:

* 391

  • Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion (Call number Q 391.003 E5648 in the oversized area). 
    • 10 volumes about related to clothing and dress around the globe. 
  • Arnold, Janet. A Handbook of Costume. London: Macmillan, 1973. Call number: 391 .A756h (Level 2) 
    • Although out of date, this book provides a nice overview of how to research historical costuming. Contains illustrations.
  • Arnold, Janet. Patterns of Fashion: The Cut and Construction of Clothes for Men and Women c. 1560-1620. New York: Drama Book, 1985. Call number: 391.00941 A756p (Level 2)
    • Contains great descriptions, reproductions of portraits and extant garments, as well as pattern diagrams of historical costumes from the late 16th and early 17th centuries.

* 646.4

  • De Alcega, Juan. Tailor's Pattern Book 1589. New York: Costume and Fashion Press, 1999. Call number: 646.4072 A351L .Ep (Level 5)
    • This is a facsimile and translation of an actual pattern book from 1589 (Libro de Geometria, Practica y Traca).
  • Countryman, Ruth S. and Elizabeth Weiss Hopper. Women's Wear of the 1920s: With Complete Patterns. Studio City, CA: Players Press, 1998.
    • Provides patterns as well as historical images of women's dress of the period.

* 791.026

  • Waugh, Norah. The Cut of Men's Clothes 1600-1900. New York: Theatre Arts Books, 1964. Call number 792.026 W354c (Level 4)
    • While out-of-date, this item still provides plates of extant men's garments as well as portraits and patterns.
  • Waugh, Norah. The Cut of Women's Clothes 1600-1930. New York: Theatre Arts Books, 1968. Call number (Q oversized) 792.026 W354cw (Level 4)
    • Provides plates of extant women's garments as well as portraits and patterns.

Visual and Performing Arts

Profile Photo
Tammy Ravas
Contact:
Arts and Media Librarian and Copyright Coordinator

Professor

MLIB 323

Mansfield Library

University of Montana

Missoula, MT 59812-9936

Ph. 406-243-4402