Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Researching topics in World Dance will require searching a wide range of resources in order to be thorough. Rather than limiting yourself to dance-specific resources, you may discover that-- for example-- you will need to use a book on music or an encyclopedia on a particular country you are researching. Below is a list of some helpful books as well as electronic resources from different disciplines that will help you with your projects.
Also please be sure to check out resources in the Ethnic Studies guide as well as the "World History" tab in the History guide.
Encyclopedias (online and in print)
Print resources will have a call number underneath the linked title. Online resources will not. Please click on the linked title to learn more about the item.
Search Google Scholar for World Dance topics
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journal, trade publication, magazine and newspaper articles, books, book reviews, reports, and Associated Press video content, covering all subject areas.
Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text current and archived articles from U.S. and global news sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Index to over 395 scholarly and popular performing arts journals, plus full text coverage of over 160 of those titles, from 1964-present.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals in the fields of: area and ethnic studies; art and architecture; creative writing; education; film, theater, and performing arts; history; language and linguistics; library science and publishing; literature; medicine and health; music; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and mathematics; social sciences; studies by time period; women's studies, gender, and sexuality.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of over 2,600 scholarly journals and 5,000 open source books covering all subject areas. Embargo for current journal issues of 2-5 years. NOTE: The library's holdings do not include primary source collections or fee-based books.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Full text content from more than 15,000 news, legal, and business sources. Includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Streaming classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent as well as full text transcripts, interviews, field notes, and study guides covering human culture and behavior, including culture and cultural change, kinship and family, economic systems and globalization, gender and sexuality, religion and ritual, and language and communication. NOTE: The library only owns the videos in volume I of the collection.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Streaming tracks from over 2.2 million Naxos and affiliated labels, including classical, world, folk, jazz, and Chinese music, and background information about the tracks. Includes tools for creating playlists to be enjoyed by individuals or groups.
Visual and Performing Arts