Library Guide to Finding Articles

The library has cancelled the Elsevier ScienceDirect ejournal package for 2024 due to previously announced budget cuts. Changes took effect on January 1, 2024. Journals with the highest usage from the past several years are being maintained as subscriptions--see the list here. Additionally, pre-1995 content is available for a significant number of titles. More recent content (from 1995 to 2023) is only available for a couple hundred titles based on core subscriptions selected in previous license agreements. Options for obtaining articles from cancelled journals are summarized on this page. A complete list of what was previously included in the Elsevier ScienceDirect package is available from here.

Journal and Article Requests

• The Journals A-Z is a searchable catalog of journals the library offers electronically and in print. The records summarize the journal coverage provided by the library in ScienceDirect and other sources. Do check this list to find out what the library provides access to at a journal level.
• Article delivery services are enabled for the ScienceDirect journals that UM no longer subscribes to. Article Galaxy Scholar provides articles almost immediately and traditional interlibrary loan fulfills requests within 1-4 days. Requests may be made through the ScienceDirect website, the library OneSearch catalog, and through other databases where ScienceDirect publications may be indexed (such as Web of Science). See Requesting articles directly through ScienceDirect and Get the article through Interlibrary Loan or Article Galaxy Scholar (AGS) for more information.
• Depending on the content, an open access version may be available. OneSearch offers a wealth of open access materials. Other options for obtaining a copy may include:
  • Google Scholar
  • Contacting the author directly or through a social networking site where researchers share their work. The author’s name, institution, and sometimes their email address typically display on the first page of an article preview. Sites include: Academia.edu, ResearchGate, Mendeley, and HumanitiesCommons.
• LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that can help you find and request articles more efficiently. For more information, see LibKey Nomad

For questions or assistance with making article requests, contact library.serials@umontana.edu.

ScienceDirect article requests may be placed directly from the ScienceDirect site at https://libguides.lib.umt.edu/sciencedirect This link is configured to ensure you are authenticated as a UM user if starting your research from off campus. Elsevier articles are also indexed in the OneSearch catalog and may be requested through there. See Get the article through Interlibrary Loan or Article Galaxy Scholar (AGS).

On the ScienceDirect site, content the library has access to is identified with a green dot and the label "Full text access." Some content may be marked "Open access" which means it is accessible without a subscription. 

Content the library does not provide will lack the green dot and "Full text access" label. For these articles, you will be able to request full text via the citation. Example:

To find the request option, click on the article title to open the full record.

At the top of the screen you will see a "Link to article" button above the banner "University of Montana does not subscribe to this content on ScienceDirect."

"Link to article" brings up a library online services menu. It is from here you will be able to place a request for the article. You may need to log into the library page with your NetID to see this option.

Interlibrary loan and Article Galaxy Scholar (AGS) are the article delivery services available to UM users. Both services are free to users, but AGS costs the library an additional $30 per request on average. Users are encouraged to use interlibrary loan whenever possible if the delivery period of 1-4 days is acceptable for their needs.

For more information, see Get the article through Interlibrary Loan or Article Galaxy Scholar (AGS)