It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Full text digitized pages of 132,600 works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America from 1473-1700. Mostly English, but also covers more than 30 languages from Algonquin to Welsh, and variant editions and multiple copies. Includes transcriptions of many thousands of works created by the Text Creation Partnership.
Full text of 11 major editions from the First Folio to the Cambridge edition of 1863-66, 24 separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works and more than 100 adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the 17th-19th centuries.
Full text of over 136,000 English-language books, tracts, and printed ephemera published in the UK between 1701-1800, plus thousands from elsewhere. Primarily in English, also contains works in Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish, and Welsh. Access provided by the Mansfield Library and the UM Law School. **Note: Access the collection from Gale Primary Sources to cross-search a wider range of digital collections and for more textual analysis tools.
Full text poetry, fiction, plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States, as well as audio files of selected poems and plays. Most works are from the period spanning the Chicano Renaissance (1965) to present.
Full text of more than 500,000 works of poetry, prose and drama from the 8th century to the present day. Includes more than thirty individual literature collections comprised of canonical texts, non-English language literature, and diverse underrepresented authors and their works. Supported with full text journals, criticism and reference resources extending to all aspects of literary studies, featuring coverage by the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL). **Note: Database contains all content formerly in Literature Online (LION). Click more... to view a list of modules. “(NEW)” denotes a collection not part of LION that is newly available via ProQuest One Literature.
ProQuest One Literature searches these literature collections. Use the Literature collection filter within the ProQuest interface to select individual modules to include in your search.
•African American Poetry: The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American to the major poets of the nineteenth century.
•African Writers Series: Key texts of modern African literature published in the Heinemann's African Writers Series since 1962. (NEW)
•American Drama (1714-1915): Over 1,500 American dramatic works.
•American Poetry: Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.
•Bertolt Brechts Werke: The dramatic, poetical and theoretical texts of Bertolt Brecht (1898 - 1956). (NEW)
•Black Short Fiction and Folklore: 82,000 pages and more than 11,000 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present. (NEW)
•Black Women Writers: 100,000 pages of literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. (NEW)
•Canadian Poetry: 19,000 poems by 177 poets from the eighteenth century to the early twentieth.
•Caribbean Literature: Literature produced by descendants of the African, Indian, and South Asian populations brought to the Caribbean between the 15th and 19th centuries. (NEW)
•Die Deutsche Lyrik in Reclams Universal-Bibliothek: Almost 500 years of German lyric poetry and includes the work of over 500 authors from the 15th to the 20th century. (NEW)
•Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker: Series published since 1981, covers the works of more than thirty German authors spanning eleven centuries. (NEW)
•Early American Fiction (1789-1875): Full text of 875 first editions of American novels and short stories.
•Early English Prose Fiction (1500-1700): More than 200 works from the period 1500–1700, exploring English prose fiction in the period preceding the emergence of the realist novel as its dominant form.
•Eighteenth-Century Fiction (1700-1780): 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780, by writers from the British Isles.
•English Drama: More than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English.
•English Poetry (1700-1780): Essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th.
•English Poetry, Second Edition: Comprehensive canon of English poetry of the British Isles and the British Empire from the 8th century to the early 20th, and representing more than 2,700 poets.
•The Faber Poetry Library (1925-1999): Collection of fifty of the most influential poets of the twentieth century, includes the poetry of Thom Gunn, Siegfried Sassoon, T.S. Eliot, Ted Hughes, Sylvia Plath, Wendy Cope and Seamus Heaney.
•Goethes Werke: Complete text of the Weimar Edition of the works of Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832). (NEW)
•Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period: More than 80 volumes of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842. (NEW)
•Kafkas Werke: A critical edition of the complete works of Franz Kafka (1883-1924), Franz Kafka, Kritische Ausgabe, Schriften und Tagebücher. (NEW)
•Latin American Women Writers: 100,000 pages of literary works, along with memoirs and essays, in their original language, by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present. (NEW)
•Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction: 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays. (NEW)
•Literary Theory: Works that have had a significant bearing on English and American traditions of theory and criticism, or which have influenced contemporary theoretical debate in the English-speaking world.
•Nineteenth-Century Fiction (1782-1903): 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s.
•Schillers Werke: Schillers Werke. Nationalausgabe, presents the works of Friedrich Schiller (1759-1805), German playwright, poet, and philosopher. (NEW)
•Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period: 60 volumes of Romantic poetry composed by Scottish women, includes contemporary criticism and essays. (NEW)
•South and Southeast Asian Literature in English: Thousands of pages of English-language fiction, short fiction, and poems written from the end of the colonial era to the present. (NEW)
•Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro: Full text of the most important dramatic works of sixteenth and seventeenth century Spain - more than 800 plays written by 16 dramatists. (NEW)
•Twentieth-Century African American Poetry (1901-1999): Modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century.
•Twentieth-Century American Poetry (1901-2000): 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets.
•Twentieth-Century American Poetry, Second Edition: Over 100,000 poems representing the full range of American poetry of the last century. (NEW)
•Twentieth-Century Drama: Essential collection of published plays from throughout the English-speaking world, covering the history of modern drama from the 1890s to the present day. (NEW)
•Twentieth-Century English Poetry: A collection of 598 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to 2000.
Full text of the major works of W.B. Yeats, Irish poet and one of the foremost figures in 20th century literature, in all genres, including poetry, plays, criticism and fiction, published 1885-1995.
Full text digitized cartoon/comic strips, comics, artwork, commentary, and other primary documents focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels from North America and Europe, beginning with the first underground comix from the 1950s to the works of modern artists.
Full text digitized newspapers from the 1800s, written by African Americans for African Americans. Also provides early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.
Full text digitized reproductions of more than 1,500 eighteenth and nineteenth century American newspapers and periodicals archived at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL). Titles include general interest, children's, women's, early scientific, and professional publications that chronicle the development of America across 150 years, published from 1740-1940.
Full text of over 15,000 digitized primary sources including correspondence; speeches, sermons, and lectures; articles, essays, and editorials from more than 200 newspapers; and poems and other miscellaneous documents from African Americans involved in the abolition movement between 1830-1865, with the majority of content coming from the U.S., Canada, and the British Isles.
Full text digitized version of the first newspaper for women, covering temperance, child-bearing and education, women's rights, and laws, among other topics.
The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture offers full-text access to a digital collection of 52 works written by African American women during the 19th century.
"Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection."
