Tips for accessing digital newspapers
Last Updated: Jan 16, 2015
The library subscribes to several newspaper databases for campus. These provide full-text content.
- Access NewspaperARCHIVE
Collection of digitized historical and recent newspapers from US and other countries.
- Access World News: Research Collection
Research current and archived news content for information on topics, events, issues, people, businesses, and more.
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
19th century African-American newspapers
- Alternative Press Index and Alternative Press Index Archive
Alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
- Char-Koosta News
(1956-1961, 1971-1988) Newspaper published by the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Indian Reservation.
- Chicago Tribune Historical
(1849-1989) Full-text and full-image articles. Includes complete paper, cover-to-cover, with page and article images in downloadable PDF.
- Chronicle of Higher Education
News and information source for the academic community
- Directory of Open Access Journals
Full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals
- Environment & Energy Publishing
Tracks environmental and energy legislation and news reports
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Interdisciplinary database of non-mainstream viewpoints from the ethnic, minority and native press
Domestic and international news and business and financial information
Women’s studies and gender studies
- Hispanic-American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
Latin American arts and letters
- LexisNexis Academic
News sources on all topics, business information, legal journals, medical topics
- Missoula Independent
Western Montana's weekly journal of people, politics, and culture.
2005 to present.
- Missoulian Index
An index of Missoulian articles, archived at the Missoula Public Library with the help of their wonderful volunteers.
- New York Times Historical
(1851-2006) Full-text and full-image articles. Includes complete paper, cover-to-cover, with page and article images in downloadable PDF.
- New York Times Image Edition
Current edition of the New York Times
- Newspaper Source Plus
Full-text newspapers and radio and television news transcripts.
Page images of over 500 newspapers from 70 countries
- Washington Post Historical Archive