Newspapers

Note: Subscription cancelled effective July 1, 2025. See Newspapers.com Library Edition: World Collection for historical newspaper content going forward. 

Digital news archive from NewsBank that provides access to thousands of global, national, and local news sources. Coverage dates vary by publication. To explore available titles and their date ranges, use the A–Z Source List.

Digitized full-text newspapers from the 1800s, authored by African Americans for African American communities. The collection also includes early biographies, vital records, essays, editorials, poetry, prose, and advertisements.

Index of articles from alternative, radical, and progressive publications dating back to 1969, covering topics such as feminism, environmental justice, Indigenous rights, LGBTQ+ advocacy, and other social movements.

Digitized full-text newspapers, pamphlets, proclamations, and newsbooks from 17th- and 18th-century English news media. The collection primarily features publications from London, with additional materials from provincial England, Ireland, Scotland, the American colonies, Europe, and India. Note: Access the collection from Gale Primary Sources to cross-search across a wider range of digital collections.

(1849-2015) Full text digitized newspaper offering complete, cover-to-cover access.

(1989-present) Full text news and information source on colleges and universities.

Full text of current newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses, along with historical archives of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American publications from 1959 to 1989. Coverage includes a wide range of ethnic groups such as African American, Caribbean, African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native American communities. See also the Diversity Collection to search Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch and Alt-PressWatch in one platform.

Full text of scholarly and popular articles and gray literature titles focusing on the evolution of gender roles in society. Covers topics related to gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies from 1970-present. See also the Diversity Collection to search Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch and Alt-PressWatch in one platform.

Full text digitized, 1991-2018. For use on the main UM campus and Missoula College only; no remote access available. Access limited to 50 users.

(1851-2021) Full text digitized newspaper offering complete, cover-to-cover access.

Digitized full-text newspapers from diverse urban and rural areas across the United States. This collection features major publications alongside newspapers produced by African American and Native American communities, women's rights advocates, labor organizations, the Confederacy, and other social and political groups. It also includes illustrated papers that vividly depict 19th-century life through the artwork of numerous period artists. Note: Access the collection from Gale Primary Sources to cross-search across a wider range of digital collections.

Full text and searchable indexing of the newspaper from 1984 to the present. The digital microfilm edition, featuring full-page color images, is available from 2008 through one week ago. Browse the digital microfilm or search the text version and digital microfilm together .

(1877-2009) Full text digitized newspaper offering complete, cover-to-cover access.