Research Guides: United Nations Research Guide: United Nations

Web resources

UN Homepage
A wealth of information on the UN and its various sub-organizations, and links to their respective homepages. Most pages have documents or publications links that you can use to see the documents that each agency puts out.
Official Document System of the United Nations (ODS)
ODS provides full-text access to all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are added to the system on a daily basis.
UN Data
A single entry point for the statistical resources of the UN System
UN Documentation Centre
Includes resolutions for the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council, and the Security Council
Food and Agriculture Organization
Global Issues on the UN Agenda
Topic-oriented access to UN information
UN Bibliographic Information System (UNBISnet)
Catalogue of UN libraries. Use to search voting records of the General Assembly1983-present & the voting records of the Security Council 1946-present. UNBISnet also indexes speeches made in the General Assembly & the Security Council, 1983-present.
UN Publications
Publications available for free online and publications in the sales program. Locate publications in the sales database, and then search our catalog or Worldcat for those publications.

Print resources

The Mansfield Library is a prior depository of United Nations publications. Most print items related to the United Nations are held on Level 2 of the library around the call number "341.1 Un."

Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements
Call number: 341.2303 O83e 2003 (Level 2)
A good place for brief information on the United Nations, its branches, and international treaties and incidents. It includes many citations at the end of the articles to UN documents.

Everyone's United Nations
Call number: 341.1 Un5 I-e (Level 2)
These editions concisely summarize major events in the United Nations' history.

Yearbook of the United Nations
Call number: 341.1 UN4y (Level 2)
This source gives a detailed account of events, bibliographic citations to core documents and full-text of key resolutions.

UN Top Stories

The UN offers a range of RSS feeds to keep you up to date.

UN Pulse

Just-released UN online information, major reports, publications & documents

Model UN

Model UN Research
Stanford Library
USA Model UN information
UNAUSA
United Nations Research Guide
Penn State
Model United Nations Research
UC-Boulder