Find OER
There are MANY places online where you can find OER. The OASIS search tool searches across multiple sources of OER. It's a great place to start. You can also search any of the individual repositories and sources of open content listed below. If you need additional help finding OER for your course, contact Wendy Walker at the Mansfield Library.
Open Text
- BC Open Collection: Strong in general education but also includes options for skills and trades. Faculty reviews and ancillary resources available for some textbooks.
- LibreTexts: Provide open and freely accessible textbooks.
- Milne Open Textbooks: Openly-licensed textbooks and courses written and curated by SUNY Faculty.
- OER by Discipline, Version 2: McMaster University: An in-progress (open creation) that lists a broad range of OER organized by discipline.
- OER Commons: Broad selection of high-quality OER.
- OpenStax: Provides free, open textbooks; especially good for introductory courses; many come with ancillary content.
- Open Textbook Library: Provides a growing repository of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.
- Pressbooks Directory: Directory of books published in the Pressbooks platform.
- SkillsCommons: Free and open digital library of workforce training materials.
Open Images/Media
- Getty Open Content: Digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission required.
- NASA Images: Images, audio, video, and computer files used in the rendition of 3-dimensional models.
- New York Public Library Public Domain Collections: Includes over 180,000 items that are free to share and reuse.
- PhET Interactive Simulations: Free interactive math and science simulations provided via the University of Colorado, Boulder.