Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Montana Map Collection encompasses a wide variety of maps ranging from historical to current. Examples of Montana map series in the Mansfield Library include topographic maps, orthophoto quads, geologic and hydrologic maps, National Forest and Wilderness maps, Forest Health Protection (Pest) maps, BLM Surface (land ownership) and Mineral Management maps, and Sanborn Company fire insurance maps.
Sanborn Digital Maps (Library of Congress)
The Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps Online Checklist provides a searchable database of the 1981 fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company housed in the collections of the Library of Congress Geography and Map Division. The online checklist will be continually updated to reflect new acquisitions. The online checklist also contains links to existing digital images from our collection and will be updated as new images are added.
Sanborn Maps (Historic Missoula)
The Mansfield Library provides online access to the Sanborn maps for Montana towns and cities to patrons with a University of Montana NetID and password. For Montana residents without a UM NetID and password, contact the Montana Historical Society for information on how to access Sanborn maps of Montana.
Montana Cadastral Mapping
Cadastral data is the information about rights and interest in land. Cadastral data may also be known as real estate data, parcel information, or tax parcel information. There are many legal and historical nuances surrounding the management of cadastral information.