Get Started with Library Research
For your Informative and Persuasive Speeches, you need to cite:
A minimum of 3 published sources, with one published within the previous 3 months.
The databases below will help you find articles on your topic. Search using the keywords you have developed, and be prepared to use both broader and narrower search terms to refine your results.
- Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text current and archived articles from U.S. and global news sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journal, trade publication, magazine and newspaper articles, books, book reviews, reports, and Associated Press video content, covering all subject areas.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text news resource on controversial social issues and current events, covering pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. - PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to professional and scholarly journals, chapters, books, reports, theses, and dissertations published internationally in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work from 1967-present. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based bibliographic research management, writing, and collaboration tool. Designed for researchers to gather, organize, store and share all types of information and to generate formatted citations and bibliographies. - ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database collection covering business, health/medical, social sciences, education, science/technology, performing/visual arts, history, religion, philosophy, and language/literature. Provides scholarly journals, market research, country/economic/industry reports, pre-print working papers, full text dissertations, as well as a vast number of professional journals, general interest periodicals, and full-text news sources from all over the world. See more... for a listing of the modules available.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text titles from around the world (1960-present), including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It incorporates specialized, editorially-curated abstracting and indexing resources as well as the AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and content previously available in ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
Keep Track of Your Citations
- Remember to keep track of the sources that you find for future reference using Refworks. Good research relies on the belief that the work of others is ethically cited...practice this routinely as part of the scholarly process!
- Be sure to record important information like title, author, year of publication, volume and issue, page numbers, publisher and URL. You will need this to build your bibliography.
Analyze Sources
Authority:
- Who is the speaker or writer?
- What are his/her credentials?
- Who, if anyone, sponsors the information?
- What is the reputation of the publisher?
Recency:
- Is the information reflective of current knowledge?
- Is the recorded date reflective of the information?
Objectivity:
- What is the author’s self-interest, bias or opinion?