Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where To Go Next
The resources on this page provide additional information on oral history research methods and resources.
Citing Oral Histories
Cite oral histories for your research project or paper using the example below. This example is for unpublished content per the Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition online (14:219-14:241). Please see your preferred citation style guide for variations on the examples below and for other types of content.
Name of interviewee, name of interviewer, date of interview, collection interview is part of, whether a transcript is available, repository name, repository location. [Example: Adelaide Douglas, interview by Mary Murphy, 11 November 1958, Montana Women's Oral History Project, OH 049-010, transcript, Archives and Special Collections, Mansfield Library, University of Montana.]
Attending Oral History Workshops
For researchers and genealogists looking for additional instruction on conducting oral history interviews there are online and in-person oral history workshops they can attend.
Baylor University's Online Oral History Workshops
Baylor University offers online workshops including "Getting Started with Oral History" and "Sharpen Your Skills: Advanced E-Workshops." Each covers 6 hours of instruction and a review of one of your oral history interviews.
Columbia University's Oral History Workshop Videos
Columbia University's Oral History Workshop Series videos cover a range of oral history topics from "Finding Narrative" and "Civic Engagement" to interviewing individuals displaced by violence.
Oral History Summer School
The Oral History Summer School is an immersive training program for journalists, historians, teachers, and others on how to do oral history. Workshops are available year-round.
Preserving Oral Histories
Once you've finished conducting oral history interviews, you may be wondering what to do with them next. Many oral historians choose to house them in a library, archives, or historical society for other researchers to access. The following resource can assist you in determining where to store your interviews.
Curating Oral Histories by
Publication Date: 2006-11-15
The interview is completed, the recorder packed away, and you've captured the narrator's voice for posterity. The bulk of your oral history is finished--or is it? Nancy MacKay, archivist and oral historian, addresses the crucial issue often overlooked by researchers: How do you ensure that the interview you so carefully recorded will be preserved and available in the future? Written in a practical, instructive style, MacKay guides readers, step by step, to make the oral history "archive ready", offers planning strategies, and provides links to the most current information in this rapidly evolving field. This book will be of interest to oral historians, librarians, archivists and others who conduct oral history and maintain oral history materials. See more at http://www.nancymackay.net/curating/.
More Oral History Principles and Best Practices
Online Best Practices Guides
This list on the Oral History In the Digital Age Wiki provides information on best practices and principles on a wide variety of oral history practice from choosing equipment to archiving interviews.