Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University History Research Guide: Athletics

A guide to the history of The University of Montana-Missoula.

Overview

Football players holding a football.

Student athletes at the UM participate in variety of different sports from cross-country to tennis. To learn about the history of athletics on campus check out the following resources.

Athletics

Online Resources

Manuscripts and Publications

 

  • The Department of Intercollegiate Athletics’ Athletic Team Record, also known as the “Red Book,” was created and maintained by University of Montana coach George P. “Jiggs” Dahlberg. The book provides in-depth information about the University of Montana’s intercollegiate athletes (all male) between 1897 and 1980.
  • The Grizzly Football Yearbook produced by the Athletics Department contain information about UM football coaches, players, and game schedules.
  • The Grizzly Football Game Day Programs produced by the Athletics Department contain information about individual UM football games.

Oral History Interviews

Jiggs Dahlberg

  In these two interviews, George P. “Jiggs” Dahlberg details his career in the Athletics   Department at the University of Montana-Missoula [then Montana State University]. Dahlberg   discusses his experiences with the Athletics Department, coaching football and basketball,   and specific games and players that he remembers from his time as the Athletic Director.   These interviews are available online via ScholarWorks (OH 191). 


Exhibits
Check out Teddy to Monte: Mascots of The University of Montana, an online exhibit with information on the history of UM mascots.

In the Archives

Physical copies of the materials listed below are available in the Mansfield Library's Archives and Special Collections.

Manuscript Collections
Click on the links listed below to view a guide to an archival collection available in Archives and Special Collections. Each of these collections contains information about University of Montana athletics.