Ask Us! We're Here to Help
Chat with a librarian
Our live chat is active from 10am-4pm Monday-Friday during semesters, otherwise you can leave an offline message!
View common questions about the library, including information about borrowing items, accessing online resources, using library space, and more!
Stay up-to-date with the latest library news, events, and research tips!
Step 3: Identify Keywords
Using the right keywords when searching for resources will help you get the best results. Before you start searching, take a moment to brainstorm possible keywords. Think outside of the box and try to come up with as many synonyms for your topic as possible. Try typing in your main topic in Google and then the word “synonym” and see what you find. Think about other words that can describe what you are looking for and write them down as you go.
Check out this tutorial for extra help:
Step 4: Search for Sources
Look for sources in the Library.
Research Guides - when you don't know where to start.
- If you don’t know where to look for sources, start at the Research Guides. The Research Guides provide links to sources based on subjects.
OneSearch - for books, articles, and newspapers.
- OneSearch is the search engine for most library resources at the University of Montana.
Library Databases - for peer-review and scholarly sources.
- If you know which database you want to use, enter the title in the search box. If you do not, either browse titles alphabetically or by subject. Try using a multi-disciplinary database like Academic Search Complete first.
Want to learn more about databases? Watch this video:
Try these databases first!
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text of thousands of academic journals, magazines, and other publications across a wide range of disciplines, including the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and more.
-
ProQuest Multiple Databases Search This link opens in a new window
Search all 34 ProQuest databases licensed by the library at once or select particular databases to include in a search. Click on Databases from the ProQuest platform to view or change what's being searched.
-
EBSCO Multiple Databases Search This link opens in a new window
Search all 49 EBSCO databases licensed by the library at once or select particular databases to include in a search.
Next try these...
Read the description to see if your topic fits within the scope of the database
-
Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Digital news archive from NewsBank that provides access to thousands of global, national, and local news sources. Coverage dates vary by publication. To explore available titles and their date ranges, use the A–Z Source List.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of current newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses, along with historical archives of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American publications from 1959 to 1989. Coverage includes a wide range of ethnic groups such as African American, Caribbean, African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native American communities. See also the Diversity Collection to search Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch and Alt-PressWatch in one platform.
-
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly and popular articles and gray literature titles focusing on the evolution of gender roles in society. Covers topics related to gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies from 1970-present. See also the Diversity Collection to search Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch and Alt-PressWatch in one platform.
-
Missoulian This link opens in a new window
Full-text and full-color image edition of The Missoulian available via the NewsBank interface from Oct 1, 2020, to the present.
- The image edition is published by 6 a.m. on the day of publication.
- The text-only archive covers articles from 2003 through one day prior to the current date, with content typically available the day after publication.
- Image editions are missing from Feb-March 2025, due to technology issues at Lee Enterprises. Articles from the missing issues may be found in the text format.
- The image edition is published by 6 a.m. on the day of publication.
-
North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 119,000 digitized pages of biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories on the indigenous peoples of North America.
-
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
A news platform exploring controversial social issues and current events, featuring balanced pro/con perspectives, reference materials, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
Research Log
Research Logs help you keep track of and organize sources. Download one here:
Look for Sources on the Internet
Check out these databases first. Read the description to see if it will be helpful for your topic.
-
Census Data, US Census BureauThis is the main database for census information.
-
Missoula City GovernmentOfficial website of the Missoula City Government. Links to city budgets, governing documents (minutes and agendas), city agency data (i.e. Parks and Recreation).
-
Arts MissoulaVision from website: "Arts Missoula serves as a resource for the coordination, development, and support of art and culture for the benefit of the Missoula community." Includes information about current events, programs and activities in Missoula community.
-
Montana Governor's Office of Indian AffairsDirectory of contact information for Blackfeet Reservation (Home of the Blackfeet Nation headquartered in Browning, Montana), Crow Reservation (Home of the Crow Nation headquartered in Crow Agency, Montana), Flathead Reservation (Home of the Confederated Salish, Pend d'Oreille & Kootenai Tribes headquartered in Pablo, Montana), Fort Belknap Reservation (Home of the Gros Ventre & Assiniboine Tribes headquartered in Fort Belknap Agency, Montana), Fort Peck Reservation (Home of the Assiniboine & Sioux Tribes headquartered in Poplar, Montana), Little Shell Chippewa Tribe (Home of the Little Shell Chippewa Tribe headquartered in Great Falls, Montana), Northern Cheyenne Reservation (Home of the Northern Cheyenne Tribe headquartered in Lame Deer, Montana), Rocky Boy's Reservation (Home of the Chippewa & Cree Tribes headquartered in Rocky Boy Agency, Montana)
-
Montana KaiminDaily newspaper published by the students at the University of Montana.
-
National Native NewsDescription from website: National Native News provides listeners with relevant, timely coverage on Native American and Indigenous communities. The program began in 1987 and is currently produced in Albuquerque, New Mexico. NNN appeals to radio listeners who are engaged in the world around them and who seek out a broader range of viewpoints.