Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Books and Other Items in the Library
Many items in the library are arranged by call number (the number on the sticker on the spine of the item). Try browsing the call numbers in these ranges for business technology:
- Business/Office Technology, Management, Marketing: 650-659
- Culinary Arts: 641-642.8
- Legal/Paralegal: 342, 344.01, 344.041, 345.01-07, 346.01-07, 347.01-09
The library also has some health care journals in print, though most are available only online.
- Business Week
- Fast Company
- Kiplinger Tax Letter
- Kiplinger's Personal Finance
- Kiplinger's Retirement Report
- Montana Business Quarterly
For Culinary Arts:
- Bon Appetit
- Cooks Country
- Cooks Illustrated
- National Culinary Review
- Simply Gluten Free
- Fact and Findings
- Montana Law Review
- Montana Law Week
- National Paralegal Reporter
Suggested Library Resources for Business Technology
Students may choose from six Associate of Applied Science degree programs and five Certificate of Applied Science programs. Degree programs include Accounting Technology with a concentration in Computer Support; Administrative Management with a concentration in Social Media Management; Food Service Management; Medical Information Technology with concentrations in Health Information Coding Specialty and Medical Administrative Assisting; Paralegal Studies; and Management with concentrations in Entrepreneurship, and Sales and Marketing. Certificate of Applied Science programs include Business Media Design, Culinary Arts, Customer Relations, Medical Reception, and Sales and Marketing. The library has a variety of resources in both print and online to support these programs.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 2,000 scholarly journal and magazine articles, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, and finance.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Continuously updated full text collection of over 880 general and subject specific titles from 116 publishers with particular emphasis on encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Full text content from more than 15,000 news, legal, and business sources. Includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
Safari Books Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 41,000 computing, technology, and business books from 250+ publishers, as well as videos, expert-curated courses, and interactive learning features. Log into Safari using your NetID. Upon logging in for the first time, you will receive a Safari welcome email at the address associated with your NetID, although no further action will be required on your part in order to access Safari titles.
Westlaw Edge Paralegal Premier This link opens in a new window
Legal research system consisting of legal and business-related databases, which are all full text searchable. Primary and secondary materials, including case law, statutes, administrative materials, treatises and more. Database is only for Paralegal students and instructors at Missoula College. A special account is needed--contact your Paralegal instructor or the Missoula College Librarian. Click on the Help '?' icon for contact options.
Developing a Research Question
1. Select a topic that interests you and do some pre-research. Look at course readings and class notes. Find information using Google, Wikipedia, CQ Researcher, or Credo Reference if you need ideas.
2. Consider the scope of your topic. If it is too narrow, you might have trouble finding enough information. If it is too broad, you can be overwhelmed with information.
3. Turn your focused topic into a research question. Know that your research question may change slightly depending on what sorts of resources you find. While you should have a topic or question in mind, allow the sources you find, along with your interests, to help shape and refine your topic further.
Questions to guide the development of your research question:
Ask Us! We're Here to Help
Chat with a Librarian
Use the Chat in the lower right corner of library webpages, from 10am-4pm Monday-Friday during summer sessions. Submit questions using the Email a Librarian link outside of those hours.
Ask a Librarian
We will respond to messages within 24-48 hours Monday-Friday.
Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Instagram