Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Books and Other Items in the Library
Many items in the library are arranged by call number (the number on the sticker on the spine of the item). Try browsing the call numbers in these ranges for Applied Computing and Engineering:
- Computers: 003.3, 003.5, 003.7, 003.8, 004.1-7, 005, 006
- Electronics: 621.3-621.399
The library also has some journals in print, though most are available only online.
- Home Power
- Maximum PC
- Nuts and Volts
- Popular Science
- Popular Mechanics
- Science News
- Scientific American
- Technology Review
Suggested Library Resources for Applied Computing and Engineering Technology
The Department of Applied Computing and Engineering Technology offers Associate of Applied Science (A.A.S.) degrees, Certificate of Applied Science (C.A.S.) programs and professional certificates. Choose from Engineering Technology, Information Technology and Electronics and Energy Technology programs. The department also offers baccalaureate degree pathways for students who want to earn a two-year degree while working toward UM baccalaureate degree requirements.
Use your NetID and password to access library databases off campus.
ACM Digital Library
Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since its founding in 1947, together with selected works published by affiliated organizations.
Safari Books Online
Full text of over 41,000 computing, technology, and business books from 250+ publishers, as well as videos, expert-curated courses, and interactive learning features. Log into Safari using your NetID. Upon logging in for the first time, you will receive a Safari welcome email at the address associated with your NetID, although no further action will be required on your part in order to access Safari titles.
Full text of 2,500 scholarly journals and over 3,000 book series volumes and reference works, published by Elsevier in the fields of health sciences, life sciences, physical sciences & engineering, and the social sciences & humanities. Library licenses most ScienceDirect journals offered, including archival content dating back to volume 1 for many titles. Other than volumes published as part of book series, the library has minimal licensed books.
Full text of over 50,000 scholarly e-books published by Springer 2005-2015, and over 2,200 current e-journals, with coverage dating back to volume 1 for many titles. Subjects include: biomedicine; business and management; chemistry; computer science; earth sciences; economics; education; engineering; geography; history; law; life sciences; literature; materials science; mathematics; medicine & public health; pharmacy; philosophy; physics; political science and international relations; psychology; social sciences; statistics. NOTE: Deselect 'Include Preview-Only' from the top of a subject or content page to limit browsing to titles licensed by the library.
MIT Open Courseware
MIT Open Courseware in Computer Science and Engineering includes lectures, readings and other materials to support learning in these fields.
Ask Us! We're Here to Help
Chat with a Librarian
Use the Chat in the lower right corner of library webpages, from 10am-1pm Monday-Friday during winter session and intersession. Submit questions using the Email a Librarian link outside of those hours.
Ask a Librarian
We will respond to messages within 24-48 hours.
Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Instagram