Getting started in researching Latin American Art
Try these resources first when beginning your research. This list will assist you with your class assignments, including study of the Mike Mansfield objects in Archives and Special Collections.
Latin American and Caribbean Artists of the Modern Era by ISBN: 9780786410576Publication Date: 2003-01-22
- Latin American Art books in our catalogThis link will take you to an index of Latin American Art books in our catalog. You can browse books by clicking on the subject heading links.
- Anthropological Literature This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index to articles, commentaries, reports, and obituaries in the fields of anthropology and archaeology, specifically social and cultural anthropology, Old and New World archaeology, physical anthropology and related subjects, with an emphasis on Mesoamerican, Native American and Andean archaeology and ethnology. Updated quarterly, indexes works in English and other European languages from the late 19th century-present. Access limited to 5 users.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current newspaper, magazine, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, as well as historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Specific ethnic groups include African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native. See also the Diversity Collection to search Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch and Alt-PressWatch in one platform.
- Hispanic-American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for Latin American artists or related topics in this database. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. Also explore 3+ million images from ARTstor and over 10,000 open access books. Note: The library does not license any collections of fee-based books from JSTOR.
- New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(1851-2020) Full text digitized newspaper articles. Includes complete paper, cover-to-cover. - Washington Post Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(1877-2008) Full text digitized newspaper. Includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover.
Art Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks
Oxford Art Online
You will need your NetID and password to access this from off-campus. Limited to 3 concurrent users; if you can't get into the database on the first try, then please check back later.
- A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art. NY: Oxford Univ. Press, 1998. byCall Number: 709.04 C538d
- North American Indian Jewelry and Adornment: from prehistory to the present. NY: Harry N. Abrams, 1999. byCall Number: 739.2708997 D8146n
- The Encyclopedia of Art Deco. NY: Knickerbocker Press, 1998.Call Number: 709.04012 E5638
- Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: themes depicted in works of art. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1998.Call Number: 704.903 E5639
- American Architecture: an Illustrated Encyclopedia. NY: W.W. Norton, 1998. byCall Number: 720.973 H3131a
- The Language of Art from A to Z: writ in plain English. Terrebonne, OR: York Books, 1997. byCall Number: 703 L184L 1997
- The Oxford Dictionary of Art. NY: Oxford Univ. Press, 1997.Call Number: 703 O982 1997
- The Wilson Chronology of the Arts. NY: H.W. Wilson Company, 1998. byCall Number: 701.0202 O16w
- Art of the 20th Century. NY: Taschen, 1998. byCall Number: 709.04 A7848
Indexes to Art Periodicals
If you're looking for articles related to art or art history, here is a list of databases to help you get started:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journal, trade publication, magazine and newspaper articles, books, book reviews, reports, and Associated Press video content, covering all subject areas.
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly literature in contemporary art and provides some links to the full text of articles. This resource can be very helpful for locating individual contemporary artists in exhibition catalogs, theses/dissertations, or books. - Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers art-related magazines and academic journals from 1929-1984. Specific topics range from graphic art to architecture to performing arts and television. Includes some links to full-text of articles. - Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is a very helpful resource to consult for locating information on contemporary and living artists. Sometimes, a newspaper article or other news item may be the only authoritative resource on a living artist because their careers are just beginning. In other cases, reading recent criticism or reviews of art exhibitions can be helpful for research as well. - WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Catalog of library resources held by institutions around the world. Find materials and place interlibrary loan requests for resources not owned locally.
Museums and other collections related to Latin American Art
- Museum of Latin American ArtThis is the home page for the Museum of Latin American Art in Long Beach, CA.
- Latino Art MuseumDedicated to contemporary Latin-American artists, this museum is located in Pomona, CA.
- Mexican MuseumLocated in San Francisco, CA, this museum houses nearly 16,000 art objects in its permanent collections from before the colonial period to contemporary times.
- Survey of Archives of Latino and Latin American Art (MoMA)Have a look at this site that features research resources on Latin American art collections from around New York City.