Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Web Sites for Topic Ideas
Sample Ebooks on Social Policy
Use your NetID and password to access databases off campus.
Academic Search Complete
Full text scholarly journal, trade publication, magazine and newspaper articles, books, book reviews, reports, and Associated Press video content, covering all subject areas.
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO)
Academic literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Access limited to six concurrent users.
American National Biography Online
Biographical dictionary of over 19,000 notable American figures from all eras of history who are no longer living, with illustrations and links to other websites. Produced by the American Council of Learned Societies and Oxford University Press.
Dissertations & Theses Global, ProQuest
Index to dissertations and theses from over 3,000 institutions in 88 countries. Full text coverage spans from 1743-present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
Interdisciplinary, scholarly, and full-text database that is the primary starting point for many researchers at UM.
Academic literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
Social Services Abstracts
Academic literature in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development
International academic literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Catalog of library resources held by institutions around the world. Find materials and place interlibrary loan requests for resources not owned locally.
Ask Us! We're Here to Help
Chat with a Librarian
Use the Chat in the lower right corner of library webpages, from 10am-4pm Monday-Friday during spring semester. Submit questions using the Email a Librarian link outside of those hours.
Ask a Librarian
We will respond to messages within 24-48 hours Monday-Friday.
Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Instagram