Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the library guide for History 371! This guide will help you get started in your research. Click on any of the tabs above to get more information on library and web resources.
Please feel free to contact us at any time with questions or for more in-depth research help!
Handout from Archives and Special Collections
Public Library Resources
Missoula Public Library subscribes to a variety of databases to assist you with research, genealogy, and much more. If you are outside of the building, you will need your Missoula Public library card number to log in.
Ancestry - Currently available from inside Missoula Public Library only
Search the world's largest online family history collection. With 4 billion records available, discovering your family's story is easier than ever.
A genealogy database to help you research your family history. Search census records, Freedman's Bank and Revolutionary War records, books, articles and more.
If using Heritage Quest from outside Missoula Public Library, you will need to enter a library card number to log in.
An index of Missoulian articles dating back to 1978, archived here at the Missoula Public Library with the help of our wonderful volunteers.
Vital Record Index
An index to newspaper articles indicating a life event, such as births, deaths, etc., from Montana newspapers. For a full listing of the events indexed see the exact search screen in the database. This index currently contains records from the Missoulian and the Missoula Republic with records going back to the early 1890s. Coverage is incomplete with records being added on an ongoing basis. For more information contact the Reference Desk.
Ask Us! We're Here to Help
Chat with a Librarian
Use the Chat in the lower right corner of library webpages, from 10am-4pm Monday-Friday during spring semester. Submit questions using the Email a Librarian link outside of those hours.
Ask a Librarian
We will respond to messages within 24-48 hours Monday-Friday.
Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Instagram