Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HSTA 371: Women in America: From 1865 to the Present: Additional Resources

Welcome! This guide will help you get started with your research for History 371!

Research Sites for Montana

These sources are specific to Montana. Montana Women's History Matters is a newly developed site created in commemoration of the 2014 centennial of women's suffrage in Montana and includes bibliographies, oral histories and short essays on a variety of topics. The Montana Memory Project is a digital library and archive and includes diaries, photographs, yearbooks, newspapers, obituaries and much more. The Montana Historical Society is an official state website linking to exhibits, collections, Montana's Museum, conference information and more.

Document from the Office of Indian Affairs on Children

Additional Primary Source Websites

About Primary Sources

This site contains information about primary sources - what they are, where to find them, and how to use them in your research.

Why Study History Through Primary Sources? (Fordham)

Primary Source Databases

Primary Source Publications at the Mansfield Library

The Mansfield Library owns thousands and thousands of books, ebooks, serials (journals, magazines, etc.) and microfilm that contain primary source content, including transcriptions or reproductions of personal papers (such as letters and diaries). You can find these using OneSearch. Some contain primary source content of relevance to Montana women's history.

Examples of books with relevant content:

A Lady's Ranch Life in Montana, by Isabel F. Randall. Richard L. Saunders, ed. (2004) Call # 978.602092 I74rZ

Girl from the Gulches: The Story of Mary Ronan as Told to Margaret Ronan. Ellen Baumler, ed. (2003) Call # 978.6 R7685.m 2003

Lizzie: The Letters of Elizabeth Chester Fisk, 1864-1893. Rex C. Myers, ed. (1989) Call # 978.602 F538z

When Montana and I Were Young: A Frontier Childhood. Margaret Bell with Mary Clearman Blew, ed. (2002). Call # 978.603 B4344Zb

Example of a journal / magazine with relevant content:

Contributions to the Historical Society of Montana (1876-1940) contains some primary source accounts of lives and activities of women.
Call # 978.6 M76. [Index at Call # 976.M76 Index.]

Examples of microfilm with relevant content:

Jeanette Rankin's Papers. Part of: Women’s Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library, Series 2, Women in National Politics - 52 reels of microfilm. Microfilm call number: 973.91 R211Z (Level 1 microfilm cabinets); Guides (including biographical sketches, bibliographies, reel indexes, and subject indexes) call number: 973.91 R211z (Level 1 - top of microfilm cabinets).

The Cattle Queen of Montana: A Story of the Personal Experience of Mrs. Nat Collins ... in which is included narratives of thrilling adventures ... and descriptions of the plains, the mines, cattle raising industry and other features of western life, learned from forty years' residence in the far West. Reel 587, no. 6050 of the Western Americana microfilm series. Microfilm call # 978 W527 (Level 1 microfilm cabinets.)

Other content

Just a reminder - the Mansfield Library's Archives and Special Collections unit holds many diaries, reminiscences, letters and scrapbooks of Montana women and women's organizations and oral histories with women in Montana.