Government Documents - HSTR 437: US - Latin American Relations - Research Guides at University of Montana-Missoula

Class guides

Digitized Historical Government Documents
A PDF version of a presentation on good sources for digital copies of government publications useful for historical research

CIA

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map. The library has paper copies back to 1995.

CIA’s Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Electronic Reading Room.
The Reading Room showcases some of the most requested declassified documents, including the recently released CAESAR and POLO papers; document collections like UFOs: Fact or Fiction, Bay of Pigs, POW/MIAs, and Human Rights in Latin America

Finding Government Documents

Tracking down older government information can be challenging (but worthwhile). Items from 1976-present should be in the library catalog, but items prior to 1976 are not necessarily in the catalog. The library is working on getting records for all of its government documents in the catalog, but it will take time to reflect 200 years worth of material in the catalog. If there isn't a record for the item you want in the catalog, the library may still own it; remember the 1976-present limitation. Try WorldCat, the digital Serial Set, or some of the print indexes to track down a call number.

Library Catalog
The Mansfield Library catalog coverage lists government publications 1976-present with incomplete but expanding coverage of pre-1976 publications. To locate pre-1976 documents, other finding tools are necessary.

WorldCat (Discovery) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is an excellent tool for tracking down historic government documents, and many records include SuDoc numbers, the call numbers used for government publications at the library. Note the SuDoc number in the catalog record & check the shelves.
WorldCat on the former FirstSearch platform is available from http://libguides.lib.umt.edu/worldcat-firstsearch

CIA FOIA Electronic Reading Room
CIA documents released through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
US State Department FOIA Documents
U.S. State Department Office of the Historian Foreign Relations of the United States Series
The Office of the Historian is staffed by professional historians who are experts in the history of U.S. foreign policy and the Department of State and possess unparalleled research experience in classified and unclassified government records. The Office’s historians work closely with other federal government history offices, the academic historical community, and specialists across the globe.
The Avalon Project
The Avalon Project (Yale) will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Links lead to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.
American Memory Collection
The Library of Congress is building an extensive digital library collection. The American Memory collection includes a wide variety of materials: photographs, correspondence, manuscripts, sheet music, sound recordings, motion pictures, etc.
Making of America
The University of Michigan site offers digitized primary source documents, including many government publications. In particular, the site features the War of the Rebellion series, essential for Civil War-related research.
Wirtz Labor Digital Library
The Department of Labor’s online library includes materials on women and labor unions, publications about working mothers, and other reports on working women.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
A treasure trove for historic government reports, this resource includes agency and exploration reports, publications of special commissions, bill reports, executive branch correspondence, and much more. The database allows full-text access to reports.
Lexis-Nexis Congressional
This database provides excellent access (1789-present) to Congressional hearings and select legislative histories. Provides call numbers for hearings and citation information for the Serial Set. Note the Serial Set volume number & the document number.
Hein Online
This database provides the full text of all Supreme Court opinions, the U.S. Statutes at Large (all public and private laws), the Congressional Record, treaties and agreements, Presidential documents, the Code of Federal Regulations, and the Federal Register.

Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) This link opens in a new window
A digital version of a classic Census publication cumulating historical statistics of the U.S. Provides easier access by subject and tables.

Historical Census Data
The Census has digitized large portions of print editions of census tables from 1790 through the present.
Historic Census Browser
1790-1960 browser for demographic, economic, and social data gathered by the U.S. Census. The UVA site allows you to search for historic data and map the results.

Electronic Documents

Growth and reforms in Latin America a survey of facts and arguments, 2006
International Monetary Fund working paper covering Latin America

Accounting for growth in Latin America and the Caribbean improving corporate financial reporting to support regional economic development , 2010 World Bank

Dealing with political ferment in Latin America the populist revival, the emergence of the center, and implications for U.S. policy. 2009, Strategic Studies Institute

Maureen and Mike Mansfield Library

HSTR 437: US - Latin American Relations

Your Librarian

Class guides

CIA

Finding Government Documents

Electronic Documents