The Mansfield Library's Archives & Special Collections (A&SC) helps to document the history of Montana and the region by collecting, preserving and providing access to unique, rare and/or valuable books, pamphlets, ephemera, archival and manuscript collections, photographs, maps, oral histories and moving image material.
Visit our website: http://www.lib.umt.edu/asc
Archives West provides access to guides to archival collections and to descriptions of primary source collections held at repositories in the Western United States, including Montana, Idaho, Utah, Washington, Oregon and Alaska. Examples of primary source materials held in archival collections include letters, diaries, photographs, scrapbooks, business records, oral histories, official papers of senators and congressmen, and the records of organizations.
There are more than 25,000 books located in Archives and Special Collections, including nearly 20,000 available for browsing in the Montana Room. Information about our books can be found using the library's OneSearch or by using the search box on the Archives and Special Collections homepage. Records for our books have also been included in WorldCat.
Although Archives and Special Collections primarily collects material about Western Montana and its people, the rare book collection in particular includes a range of unique and/or valuable non-Montana items.
Archival and Manuscript Collections
Archives and Special Collections holds over 1,000 manuscript collections (primarily unpublished materials created by individuals, organizations and businesses) focusing on people, events and activities in Montana. We also hold the records of several University of Montana departments and entities.
Information about the majority of our manuscript and archival collections can be found using the Archives West database. Records for most of our collections are also available in WorldCat.
Regional and Historic Maps
More than 7,000 regional and historic maps are housed in the Montana Room of Archives and Special Collections. Maps in this collection can be found using the library's OneSearch (note: In the 'Material Type' dropdown option select 'Maps').
Several hundred of our maps have been digitized and are available online via the Mapping Montana and the West collection in the Montana Memory Project.
Archives and Special Collections has nearly 100,000 historic images, in a variety of formats, dating from the 1860s to the present. The majority of the photographs document people, places and activities in western Montana, including the Missoula area and the University of Montana campus.
Photocopies of more than 20,000 images are located in cabinets just outside the Archives and Special Collections room and are available for browsing.
Over 6,800 of our photographs have been digitized for online access. You can start your search on this page or browse photographs in the Archival Photographs from the University of Montana collection in the Montana Memory Project.
Over 2,500 oral history recordings are available from Archives and Special Collections. The majority of our oral histories can be found using the library's OneSearch or by using the search box on the Archives and Special Collections homepage. Tapes and transcripts for the majority of our oral histories are located in cabinets just outside the Archives and Special Collections area and are available for checkout from the library. Additional information about our Oral Histories is available on our Oral History Collections Research Guide.