What is this page for?
As you’re beginning your research, you will want to think about what type of sources your assignment requires, or what types of sources best fit your research needs. Sources come from a variety of places, and this page is meant to help you get started in your searching. Be sure to Ask a Librarian if you need more help getting started!
Databases
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text of thousands of academic journals, magazines, and other publications across a wide range of disciplines, including the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and more.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of current newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses, along with historical archives of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American publications from 1959 to 1989. Coverage includes a wide range of ethnic groups such as African American, Caribbean, African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native American communities. See also the Diversity Collection to search Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch and Alt-PressWatch in one platform.
-
Hispanic-American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly journal articles published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean political, cultural, economic, social issues, and the arts and humanities from 1960s-present.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore over 2,800 academic journals across more than 60 disciplines, including the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Access millions of primary sources from four unique collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. Discover over 3 million high-quality images from ARTstor, along with a growing library of 10,000+ open access books. Click more… for links to specific collections.
-
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction This link opens in a new window
Full-text poetry, fiction, and plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Latino authors—including Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and others—living and working in the United States. The archive also features audio recordings of selected poems and plays. Most of the works date from the Chicano Renaissance of 1965 to the present day.
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index of journals, series, and books spanning literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical development of printing and publishing, covering materials from the 1920s to the present.
-
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary database offering resources across business and economics (including market, country, and industry reports), health and medical sciences, social sciences, education, science and technology, arts and humanities, language and literature, history, religion and philosophy, performing and visual arts, communication studies, psychology, public and international affairs, film studies, music, and news and world affairs. It includes access to scholarly journals, market research, trade and professional journals, general interest magazines, and global news sources.
Physical Books in the Library
Here are just a few of the many books we have in the library, check out the OneSearch on the Library’s homepage to start searching!
-
The True History of the Conquest of New Spain
by
This rugged new translation--the first entirely new English translation in half a century and the only one based on the most recent critical edition of the Guatemalan MS--allows Diaz to recount, in his own battle-weary and often cynical voice, the achievements, stratagems, and frequent cruelty of Hernando Cortes and his men as they set out to overthrow Moctezuma's Aztec kingdom and establish a Spanish empire in the New World. The concise contextual introduction to this volume traces the origins, history, and methods of the Spanish enterprise in the Americas; it also discusses the nature of the conflict between the Spanish and the Aztecs in Mexico, and compares Diaz's version of events to those of other contemporary chroniclers. Editorial glosses summarize omitted portions, and substantial footnotes explain those terms, names, and cultural references in Diaz's text that may be unfamiliar to modern readers. A chronology of the Conquest is included, as are a guide to major figures, a select bibliography, and three maps.
Publication Date: 2012-03-15 -
Open Veins of Latin America
by
The classic survey of Latin America's social and cultural history, with a new introduction by Isabel Allende Since its U.S. debut a quarter-century ago, this brilliant text has set a new standard for historical scholarship of Latin America. It is also an outstanding political economy, a social and cultural narrative of the highest quality, and perhaps the finest description of primitive capital accumulation since Marx. Rather than chronology, geography, or political successions, Eduardo Galeano has organized the various facets of Latin American history according to the patterns of five centuries of exploitation. Thus he is concerned with gold and silver, cacao and cotton, rubber and coffee, fruit, hides and wool, petroleum, iron, nickel, manganese, copper, aluminum ore, nitrates, and tin. These are the veins which he traces through the body of the entire continent, up to the Rio Grande and throughout the Caribbean, and all the way to their open ends where they empty into the coffers of wealth in the United States and Europe. Weaving fact and imagery into a rich tapestry, Galeano fuses scientific analysis with the passions of a plundered and suffering people. An immense gathering of materials is framed with a vigorous style that never falters in its command of themes. All readers interested in great historical, economic, political, and social writing will find a singular analytical achievement, and an overwhelming narrative that makes history speak, unforgettably. This classic is now further honored by Isabel Allende's inspiring introduction. Universally recognized as one of the most important writers of our time, Allende once again contributes her talents to literature, to political principles, and to enlightenment.
Publication Date: 1997-01-01 -
Art of Political Murder
by
Bishop Juan Gerardi, Guatemala's leading human rights activist, was bludgeoned to death in his garage on a Sunday night in 1998, two days after the presentation of a groundbreaking church-sponsored report implicating the military in the murders and disappearances of some two hundred thousand civilians. Realizing that it could not rely on police investigators or the legal system to solve the murder, the church formed its own investigative team, a group of secular young men in their twenties who called themselves Los Intocables (the Untouchables). Known in Guatemala as "The Crime of the Century," the Bishop Gerardi murder case, with its unexpectedly outlandish scenarios and sensational developments, confounded observers and generated extraordinary controversy. In his first nonfiction book, acclaimed novelist Francisco Goldman has spoken to witnesses no other reporter has reached, and observed firsthand some of the most crucial developments in the case. Now he has producedThe Art of Political Murder, a tense and astonishing true detective story that opens a window on the new Latin American reality of mara youth gangs and organized crime, and tells the story of a remarkable group of engaging, courageous young people, and of their remarkable fight for justice.
Publication Date: 2008-09-01 -
Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
by
First Published in 2001. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
