Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives and Special Collections Digital
The Sentinel: University of Montana Yearbooks
The University of Montana (UM) was founded in 1893 and its first yearbook was produced in 1904. Over the next eighty years the Sentinel expanded to include photographs and stories documenting all aspects of life at UM. The Sentinel is a rich source of information about the history and culture of the University. It covers unique UM events like Aber Day, Foresters Ball, and the annual Griz-Cat game along with student government, Greek life, intramurals, Homecoming, student clubs and organizations, and much more.
Finding Good Articles
The library databases are the best place to look for articles. The databases are diverse and some, like those listed below, are useful for general research. Others are more specific to particular majors and areas of research.
Here are a few good places to start your research, and if you want to pursue more specific databases they are listed alphabetically on the library homepage (each database has a description with it so that it is clear what kind of information it contains).
Academic Search Complete
Full text scholarly journal, trade publication, magazine and newspaper articles, books, book reviews, reports, and Associated Press video content, covering all subject areas.
Access World News: Research Collection
Full text current and archived articles from U.S. and global news sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
Full text of current newspaper, magazine, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, as well as historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals, from 1959-1989. Specific ethnic groups include African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native.
Full text of scholarly and popular articles and gray literature titles focusing on the evolution of gender roles in society. Covers topics related to gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies, from 1970-present.
Information from the local newspaper that ranges from 2005-present. Use this link to prevent being blocked after viewing 10 stories.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Full text of over 119,000 digitized pages of biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories on the indigenous peoples of North America.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Controversial social issues and current events. Includes well-written positional essays in addition to many other sources. This is a great resource for locating background information!
A Word about Research
"Doing research carefully and reporting it clearly are hard work, consisting of many tasks, often competing for your attention at the same time. And no matter how carefully you plan, research follows a crooked path, taking unexpected turns, sometimes up blind alleys, even looping back on itself...When you can manage its parts, you can manage the often intimidating whole..."
from The Craft of Research (3rd ed, 2008) by Wayne Booth, Gregory Colomb and Joseph Williams
Download and use the Research Journal (above) to help plan, organize, track and revise your research. You may need to download the newest version to Adobe Reader to use this document.
Visit the Writing Center!
Using Research to Find a Topic
Here are some resources beyond the library (often organized by different communities) that may help you in your search for additional information. Often material that has a different scope, focus or audience than traditional scholarly information can add complexity, interest or local relevance to your topic.
Apply the same scrutiny to the material you find through these sites that you would to any other information. Use the questions on the back of your Research Journal to evaluate the information.
Missoula City Government
Official website of the Missoula City Government. Links to city budgets, governing documents (minutes and agendas), city agency data (i.e. Parks and Recreation).
Missoula Cultural Council
Website for community-based cultural advocacy group. Includes information about current events, programs and activities in Missoula community.
Montana Governor's Office of Indian Affairs
From their website: Montana is home to 7 Indian reservations and the state-recognized Little Shell Tribe of Chippewa Indians. For fast facts on the tribes, reservations and their economy, and tribal councils, please click on the links or use the interactive map.
University of Montana student newspaper.
National Native News
From their website: National Native News provides listeners with relevant, timely coverage on Native American and Indigenous communities. The program began in 1987 and is currently produced in Albuquerque, New Mexico. NNN appeals to radio listeners who are engaged in the world around them and who seek out a broader range of viewpoints.
From their Mission Statement: The goal of The University of Montana Allies Program (UM Allies) is to promote a campus environment that is inclusive and supportive of all individuals, regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression.