Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dance Periodical Indexes
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
You may have already used this article database for other course work, but it can provide you with a multidisciplinary approach to dance research.
Need an article from a dance-related academic journal or magazine? Here are some dance- and performing arts-specific resources to help you get started.
You can also browse our periodical holdings in the subject area of dance by clicking here.
You will need your NetID and password in order to connect to these resources from off campus. Click here for more information.
Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text current and archived articles from U.S. and global news sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
Art Full Text
Although this resource is more specifically geared towards the visual arts, there is some coverage of performing arts as well. In many cases, you can access the full text of articles from search results. Index contained in the Omnifile Full Text Mega database.
Education Full Text
You can locate some full-text articles related to dance education using this database. Index contained in the Omnifile Full Text Mega database.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This can help you find full text of historical scholarly dance articles. If you need current scholarly research on a dance topic, please use Project Muse, IIPA, Research in Dance, or others.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
This resource can help you find information on contemporary dancers, dance concert reviews, or choreographers. Lexis Nexis Academic mainly searches newspaper articles from major U.S. and World resources.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
(1851-2018) Full text digitized newspaper articles. Includes complete paper, cover-to-cover.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals in the fields of: area and ethnic studies; art and architecture; creative writing; education; film, theater, and performing arts; history; language and linguistics; library science and publishing; literature; medicine and health; music; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and mathematics; social sciences; studies by time period; women's studies, gender, and sexuality.
Visual and Performing Arts