Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
U.S. Government Web Resources
Administration for Children and Families (ACF)
Responsible for programs that provide services and assistance to needy children and families.
Administration for Community Living (ACL)
Supports a nationwide network providing services to the elderly and those with disabilities, especially to enable them to remain independent. Provides policy leadership on aging issues.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Supports research designed to improve the outcomes and quality of health care, reduce its costs, address patient safety and medical errors, and broaden access to effective services.
Assistance Listings (Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance [CFDA])
Provides eligibility requirements, application and award processes, and deadlines for more than 1600 assistance programs administered by more than fifty federal agencies.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Provides a system of health surveillance to monitor and prevent outbreak of diseases. CDC maintains national health statistics and supports research into disease and injury prevention.
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)
Administers the Medicare and Medicaid programs, which provide health care to America’s aged and indigent populations. Also administers the State Children’s Health Insurance Program (SCHIP).
Child Welfare Information Gateway
Over 32,000 abstracts of books, technical reports, fact sheets, journal articles, and other documents related to child abuse and neglect, child welfare, and adoption.
Evidence Database on Aging Care
EDAC is a project of the New York Academy of Medicine to support research in aging. It hopes to translate research into good policy.
Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
Helps provide health resources for medically underserved populations.
Laws.com aims to keep the public informed, provide the most updated information on current issues, supply crime prevention solutions, and to help make the world a safer place. Good information on social justice issues.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Statistics on U.S. social, political, and economic conditions, published annually, 2013-current edition. Content for the 1878-2012 editions are available at the U.S. Census website or via Hein Online.
Newspapers and Magazines
New York Times
Academic One File, a Gale database, gives full text access with only a few days delay. Search for article times or search NYTimes right from Academic One File.
Science Magazine covers recent research in the sciences for a broader audience.
Wall Street Journal
Full text coverage of the latest content from Wall Street Journal online.
Native Issues and Resources
National Association of Social Workers
NASW, the largest membership organization of professional social workers in the world, enhances the professional growth and development of its members, creates and maintains professional standards, and aims to advance sound social policies.
The New Social Worker
Resources and information targeted at recent social work graduates and professionals.
Child Welfare Information Gateway
U.S. Deptartment of Health & Human Services information portal for social service workers dealing with child welfare.