EndNote Web WindowRefWorks WindowWeb Tools Window
This is the "Home" page of the "Mansfield Library Workshops" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Accessible Navigation. Go to: Navigation Main Content Footer

Mansfield Library Workshops  

Last Updated: Apr 10, 2012 URL: http://libguides.lib.umt.edu/workshops Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Spring 2012 Workshops

Learn about library research and databases in a small group environment. The Library is offering the workshops listed below this semester. In addition, feel free to contact us to arrange an individual session with a liaison librarian for help on any of the topics or research questions All workshops are open to the entire UM community.

Navigating Copyright for Teaching and Research
Learn about the impacts of copyright law on your instruction and scholarship.
February 7, Tuesday, 3-4pm, or February 17, Friday, 12-1pm

Identifying Funding with the Foundation Directory Online
Learn how to use Foundation Center resources to identify grant and scholarship opportunities. *This workshop is part of the COT's brown bag faculty series and will be held at the COT in room HB08.
February 14, Tuesday, 12-1pm --- Note this is a date change.

Managing Your Research with RefWorks
Hands-on workshop on how to utilize the bibliographic management tool RefWorks to organize your research, store citations, and create bibliographies.
March 6, Tuesday, 3-4pm, or March 16, Friday, 12-1pm

Conducting a Literature Review
Learn the components of and a strategic approach to the literature review process.
April 10, Tuesday, 3-4pm, or April 20, Friday, 12-1pm


Business Series

Business Resources I: Company Information
Hands-on workshop on the best databases for company information using LexisNexis Academic – for larger public companies, Mergent Business Online – for U.S. and International businesses, Reference USA – for small private companies.
February 8, Wednesday, 1:30-2:30pm

Business Resources II: Industry
Hands-on workshop on the best databases for industry information using Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage – industry analyses and reports, Value Line Research Center, and Business & Company Resource Center.
February 24, Friday, 1:30-2:30pm

Business Resources III: Marketing
Hands-on workshop on the best databases for marketing information. Learn how to use Business & Company Resource Center, Academic Search Complete, and some methods for finding demographics.
March 1, Thursday, 1:30-2:30pm

Business Resources IV: Free Government Information
Learn how to use some of the top government websites for financial reports from public companies, demographic information, public spending and more.
March 15, Thursday, 1:30-2:30pm


RSVP online at http://www.lib.umt.edu/forms/workshops

*Except for the Identifying Funding session all workshops will be held at the Mansfield Library.

 

2011 Research Workshops

Throughout spring semester 2011 the library offered workshops titled "Copyright and Today's Technologies" and "Managing Your Research."

 

2010 Copyright Workshop

Copyright for Faculty & Graduate Students

The library offered a basic overview of copyright workshop in April 2010 to address faculty and graduate students questions, such as: Is it okay to play a YouTube video for my class, Can I use an image in my article manuscript, or Can I hand out 35 copies of an article to my students, What can I put on Blackboard or eRes? The session was led by Tammy Ravas, Media Coordinator, Samantha Hines, Distance Education Coordinator, and Claudia Denker, Associate Legal Counsel.

A video of the workshop is available here and is limited to UM staff, faculty and students by NetID.  The sound quality is a little poor. A guide related to copyright can be found here.

 

2009 & 2010 Research Workshops

Managing Your Research and Keeping Current Workshops

During March 2010 the library offered "Managing Your Research" workshops on how to utilize the citation management tools EndNote Web and RefWorks to organize research and to create bibliographies and in-text citations.

During Fall 2009 the library offered a workshop titled "Managing Your Research & Keeping Current" that covered how to utilize the citation management tools EndNote Web and RefWorks, as well as guidance on awareness services such as RSS feeds, Table of Contents alerts, and saved search alerts. The tabs on this guide provide some of the information covered during the workshop.

The handouts from each series of workshops are linked below.

Get Your Work Done Before Spring Break Series

During March 2010 the library offered a series of three workshops: Cite it Like You Mean It, Using Wikipedia Smartly, and Research Free Forms. The workshops covered how to format, understand and properly integrate citations; how to find “citeable” material after first consulting Wikipedia; and research strategies given an imminent deadline.

Need help?

Profile Image
Help is Here.
Contact Info
406.243.6866

32 Campus Drive
Missoula, Montana 59812
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip