Skip to main content

NUTR 221N Basic Human Nutrition: Home

This guide is designed for students enrolled in NUTR 221.

Find Articles

Use the Library's full text electronic resources listed below to find research articles.

Quick tip: Use formal or scientific terminology. For example, instead of searching for fiber search for "dietary fiber". See the Working with Keywords tab above for other search guidance.

Nutrition Journals

Below is a select list of high impact nutrition journals.

Advances in Nutrition, American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, Annual Review of Nutrition, British Journal of Nutrition, Clinical Nutrition, Critical Reviews in Food Science and Nutrition, European Journal of Clinical Nutrition, Genes and Nutrition, International Journal of Behavioral Nutrition and Physical Activity, Journal of Human Nutrition and Dietetics, Journal of Nutrition, Molecular Nutrition & Food Research, Nutrition, Nutrition & Metabolism, Nutrition Journal, Nutrition Research, Nutrition Research Reviews, Nutrition Reviews, Proceedings of the Nutrition Society, Public Health Nutrition

Background Information

In the reference articles and books linked and listed below you can find general overviews and definitions of chronic diseases and health conditions, proteins, and minerals..

The sources are not peer-reviewed research articles.

Chronic Diseases and Health Conditions

Cancer | Diverticulitis | Irritable Bowel Syndrome | Type II Diabetes | Metabolic Syndrome | Heart Disease | Obesity

For definitions of Proteins (Adiponectin | Ghrelin | Leptin | Oxyntomodulin | Pancreatic Peptide | PYY | Resistin | Visfatin) and Minerals (Sodium | Chloride | Potassium | Calcium | Phosphorus | Magnesium | Sulfate) consult these online books:

The American Heritage Dictionary of Medicine, 2015, Houghton Mifflin

A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition (4th edition), David A. Bender, 2014, Oxford University Press

A Dictionary of Biomedicine, John Lackie, 2010, Oxford University Press

Collins Dictionary of Medicine (4th edition), Robert M. Youngson, 2005, Collins

Oxford Handbook of Nutrition and Dietetics, Edited by Joan Webster-Gandy, Angela Madden, and Michelle Holdsworth, 2006, Oxford University Press

Your Librarian

Kate Zoellner
Education and Human Sciences Librarian and Economics Liaison
Mansfield Library Room 325 | 406-243-4421 | Send Email

How do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication? This video created by librarians at North Carolina State University Libraries will explain.

Peer Review

Definition

The procedures used by researchers and scientists to review the work, decisions and writings of their professional colleagues - peer groups. Reviewers of scientific papers are commonly called referees, and papers submitted to medical and scientific journals for publication are customarily reviewed by one or more experts in the subject(s) dealt with in the paper. The aim is to improve the quality of the study by pointing out potential pitfalls or errors to the author(s), or to assist medical-journal editors in deciding which papers to prioritise for publication.

Source: Peer review. (2010). In Harvey Marcovitch (Ed.), Black's medical dictionary (42nd ed.). Retrieved from Credo Reference database.

Find out more about peer review:

Cone, J. D. (2001). Telling others about your findings. In Evaluating outcomes: Empirical tools for effective practice (pp. 369-401). Retrieved from PsycBOOKS database.

Godlee, F. (2008). Peer review in health sciences (2nd ed.) [eBook Central version]. Retrieved from eBook Central database.

Research Article Anatomy

Most research articles are organized into the following sections:

  • Title
  • Abstract
  • Introduction
  • Method
  • Results
  • Discussion

Observational and Experimental Studies

An explaination of experimental and observational study designs.

“An interventional or experimental study is when the investigator tests whether modifying or changing something about the study participants alters the development or course of the outcome. For example, if a random half of smokers were given free nicotine patches and the other half were not, an investigator could determine whether free nicotine patches increased the proportion of participants who quit smoking over the subsequent year. The essence of an interventional study is that the investigator has the power to randomly assign exposures in a way that enhances the validity of a study.

Observational studies involve the investigator collecting data on factors (exposures) associated with the occurrence or progression of the outcome of interest, without attempting to alter the exposure status of participants. For example, a study could observe whether smokers are more likely to have a heart attack than non-smokers. The investigator does not intervene or manipulate the situation in any way, he or she simply observes.” (p. 101)

Source: Bowling, A., & Ebrahim, S. (2005). Handbook of health research methods: Investigation, measurement and analysis [eBook Central version]. Retrieved from eBook Central database.