Start Here / Best Databases
- Web of Knowledge Combined - Search Web of Science; Biosis; Medline; and Zoological Record combined.
- Treesearch - U.S. Forest Service publications.
- Google Scholar - Scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.
- CAB Abstracts - Agriculture, forestry, animal health, nutrition, recreation and tourism, rural sociology, soils, and veterinary science.
- Agricola - Agriculture, botany, forestry, grazing, range management, and Forest Service reports.
- WorldCat - Catalog of materials in libraries worldwide.
- Google Books - Snippet and full-text views of books as they are scanned by the Google Book Project.
NOTE: The above databases will also be duplicated in the sections on databases and books.
All Relevant Databases
For an overview of the Cycle of Scientific Communication click here: Scientific Communication.
For an outline of a Comprehensive Science Literature Review click here: Science Literature Review.
For tips on improving database search results click here: Improving Database Search Results.
Suggested databases:
- Academic Search Complete - Multidisciplinary, full-text database.
- Agricola - 1970-present; Comprehensive index to agriculture and forestry (includes USFS research).
- AGRIS: International Information System for Agricultural Sciences and Technology - Reports, conference publications,and government publications covering agriculture, forestry, aquatic sciences and fisheries, and more from over 100 participating countries.
- Biosis Previews - Includes Biological Abstracts and provides comprehensive indexing of life sciences and biomedical research literature for journal articles, books, conference proceedings and patents.
- Business Source Complete - All subject areas related to business.
- CAB Abstracts - Agriculture, forestry, animal health, nutrition, recreation and tourism, rural sociology, soils, and veterinary science.
- ClimateWire - Coverage of the politics and business of climate change.
- Environment & Energy Publishing - Tracks environmental and energy action in Congress.
- Environment Complete - Environmental literature.
- Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management - Environmental science and pollution literature.
- Forestry Databases (University of Minnesota) - Index to publications relating to Forestry.
- Google Scholar - Scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.
- Land Letter - Coverage of natural resource policy issues.
- Science.gov - Gateway to U.S. government science information.
- Treesearch - U.S. Forest Service publications.
- Water Resources Abstracts - Literature covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.
- Web of Science - Multidisciplinary index.
Journals
Search specialized magazines and journals when looking for articles on your research topic. Some of the browsing examples to look at are: Canadian Journal of Forest Research; Forest Science; Forest Ecology and Management; Tree Physiology; Journal of Forestry; Forest Products Journal; Southern Journal of Applied Forestry; Agroforestry Systems; Northern Journal of Applied Forestry; Silvae Genetica; Wood and Fiber Science.
To Browse Titles or Journals by Subject, click here: Mansfield Library Journals.
Browse or Search Ejournal Packages (NOTE: Some allow keyword searching of article fulltext):
For an explanation of Popular vs. Scholarly (magazines versus research journals) click here: Popular vs. Scholarly.
For an explanation of Peer Review click here: Peer Review in 5 Minutes.
For an overview of placing article alerts click here: Article Alerts.
To evaluate, compare, and rank journals using citation data click on: Journal Citation Reports or on Eigenfactor.
Book Catalogs
- The University of Montana Catalog - All time periods: Books, Media, Government Documents, etc.
- WorldCat - All time periods; Library Union Catalog; Books, Media, Government Documents, etc.
- Google Books - Snippet and full-text views of books as they are scanned by the Google Book Project.
- National Agricultural Library Catalog - All time periods, books, journal articles,media, government documents.
For search hints, take a look at: UM Catalog Help.
Main Dewey Decimal call numbers for browsing Forestry materials in the Mansfield Library book stacks or library catalog: 634.9; 333.7
For a detailed view of Dewey Decimal call numbers click on: Dewey Decimal Classification Summaries.
Main Government Document call numbers for browsing Forestry materials in the Mansfield Library book stacks or library catalog: A 13
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Handbooks
- AccessScience - Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online
- Bibliography of Dendrochronology
- Botanical Latin (580.14 S799)
- Climate Data Directory
- Concise Dictionary of Biology (574.03 C744)
- The Concise Dictionary of Botany (581.03 C744)
- Concise Encyclopedia of Biochemistry (574.192 B864e)
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Zoology (591.03 C744)
- Concise Encyclopedia of Biochemistry (574.192 B864e)
- Dictionary of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics (570.3 L738d)
- Dictionary of Forestry (634.903 T319)
- A Dictionary of Genetics (575.103 K54d)
- Dictionary of Natural Resource Management (333.703 D926d)
- Dictionary of Plant Toxins (615.952 D554)
- A Dictionary of Zoology (590.3 L495d)
- Encyclopedia of Agricultural Science (630.3 E56)
- Encyclopedia of American Forest and Conservation History (634.9097 U1E5 Q Oversize)
- Encyclopedia of Biostatistics (610.72 E56)
- Encyclopedia of Ecology - Encyclopedia of general and applied ecology.
- Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology (574.503 E56)
- Encyclopedia of Entomology - Online encyclopedia.
- Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences - Encyclopedia of forestry and forest sciences.
- Encyclopedia of Horticulture (635.903 E93n)
- Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences - Covers the understanding and management of fresh water resources.
- Encyclopedia of Medicinal Plants (615.3203 C527)
- Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology (631 E563)
- Encyclopedia of Rainforests (578.73403 J939e)
- Encyclopedia of Seeds: science, techonology and uses (631.52103 E5646 Q Oversize)
- Encyclopedia of World Timbers (634.97 B778e Q Oversize)
- Environmental Issues in Pacific Northwest Forest Management
- Forest Encyclopedia Network
- Forestry Glossaries
- Forestry Handbook; also, paper copy available (634.9 F718)
- Forestry Handbooks (University of Maine)
- Forestry Images
- Global Biodiversity: status... (333.9511 G562)
- Historical Monographs in Botanical Sciences
- The Literature of Forestry and Agroforestry (634.9 L776)
- McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Environmental Science (304.203 M147)
- Montana Climate Office
- Mountain Pine Beetle in Montana
- National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) - Provides access to current and historical weather data for the U.S. 360 Search subject area: Federal Government Documents.
- National Invasive Species
- Natural Resources (333.703 N285)
- NatureServe Explorer: An Online Encyclopedia of Life
- Northwest Trees: identifying and understanding the region's native trees (582.1609795 A751n 2007)
- Plants Database
- Silvics of North America
- Silviculture Terminology
- Soil Classification
- Terminology of Forest Science: technology, practice and byproducts (634.903 T319)
- Threatened Trees (UNEP WCMC Species Database)
- Tree Guide
- Tree Species Range Maps
- U.S. National Forests and Grasslands
- Wikipedia - An encyclopedia that is written & edited anonymously & collaboratively.
- Wiley Encyclopedia of Environmental Pollution and Cleanup (628.5 M6138)
- Wood Collection
Statistics and Economics
- AgEcon: Agricultural Economics
- Agricultural Statistics, National Service (USDA)
- Canadian Forest Industries
- Directory of Forest Products
- Directory of Wood Products (674.058 H236)
- Environment Statistics
- FAO Agriculture & Forestry Statistics
- Forest Resources of Europe, NA...
- Interior West Forest Inventory & Analysis
- National Forestry Database (Canada)
- Production, prices, employment, and trade in Northwest forest industries, all quarters 2006 (A 13.80:PNW-RB-255)
- Public Land Statistics (BLM)
- Random Lengths, Yearbook
- State of the World's Forests
- Statistical Yearbook of the Western Lumber Industry (338.47674 S797)
- TAPPI Pulp & Paper Industry
- U.S. Forest Inventory and Analysis
- USDA Economics & Statistics
Legal, Legislative and News Information Sources
Web Sites - Search Engines
Some suggested search engines are:
Web Sites - MetaSites & Directories
- AgNIC: Agriculture Network Information Center
- Agriculture, Food, and Forestry (Intute)
- Botany Suggested Websites (BSA)
- Canada Natural Resources
- Canadian Forest Service
- Canadian Forests
- Dendrome - Forest Genetic Information Resources
- Forest History Society
- Forest Protection
- Forestry (About.com)
- Forestry AgNIC
- Forestry (United Nations FAO)
- ForestryUSA
- Global Forest Information Service
- Google Forestry
- IUFRO: International Union of Forest Research Organizations
- JSTOR Plant Science - Provides access to plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials with global coverage.
- Montana Conservation Groups
- Montana Department of Natural Resources
- Montana Fish Wildlife and Parks
- Montana Society of American Foresters
- National Forest Association - Information Links
- Native Forest Network
- Natural Resource Information System
- Non-timber Forest Products
- Rangelands West
- Silva Forest Foundation
- Society of American Foresters
- United Nations Environment Programme
- University of Montana College of Forestry & Conservation
- U.S. Forest Service
- Wilderness
- World Resources Institute
- Yahoo Forestry
Citation Guides
- Journal of Forestry, Guide for Authors, Style
- Scientific Style and Format: the CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers (808.066 S4169)
- EndNote
- Refworks
Need help? |
Contact Info Barry Brown Science Librarian Head, Access & Collection Services Mansfield Library, The University of Montana 32 Campus Drive. #9936 Missoula, MT 59812-9936 406-243-6811; Office ML 327 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |






Loading...
