This is the "E-books at the Mansfield Library" page of the "E-Book Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Accessible Navigation. Go to: Navigation Main Content Footer

E-Book Resources   Tags: e-books, ebooks, electronic books  

Learn more about e-book resources at the Mansfield Library!
Last Updated: Feb 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.umt.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates
E-books at the Mansfield Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding and Reading E-Books

What is an e-book?

The word e-book (or ebook) is short for electronic book. Usually an e-book has been published previously in print, reproduced in electronic format, and made available through a database such as Ebrary or Overdrive.

The Mansfield Library and e-books

The Mansfield Library has increased its collection of e-books in recent years as distance-education programs have grown.  Many students and faculty, both on campus and off, find it convenient to access books electronically at any time and from any location.  Some library users are not able to come into the building; others want to save themselves a trip.

How do I find e-books?

The e-book offerings are mostly integrated into the library catalog so that you can find them as you would any other book.  If you search the library catalog in the regular way, your results will include books in all formats that pertain to your topic.  However, the location of e-books will appear as "Electronic Resource" rather than a particular collection or floor within the library, and the call number will show as "Electronic Book.” 

E-books can also be found within the individual resources listed below or in the Search Everything interface (select the limit for e-books on the left side of the results screen once you've performed a search).

How do I read an e-book once I find one?

Click on the title of the book you’d like to read or its results number to see the item record.  From this screen click on the text that says “Connect to this title online.”

The catalog or other interface will take you automatically to the online resource that provides the book.  If you are off campus you will be asked to provide remote access information (netID and password).  In some cases book chapters are available in pdf format; in other cases you will have to scroll through the book or click on arrows to read it.

Only a few of our e-book titles can be downloaded to an e-reader device like a Kindle or an iPad at this time.  The e-book publishers Overdrive and Springer provide the best access for this kind of reading right now.  They are listed below in the box marked "E-Book Publishers."

Can I print an e-book?

E-book publishers typically allow you to download and print one chapter or a limited range of pages at a time for books still under copyright.  If a book's copyright has expired you may be able to print or download the entire book.  All books in the Project Gutenberg collection may be downloaded.

Specialized e-books

This guide refers to general e-book resources that appeal to a wide audience.  In addition, you will find many subject-specific e-books in the library catalog (i.e., Safari publications on technology) and in databases such as PsycINFO (look here for edited book chapters in psychology).  Please refer to the library's Subject Guides or contact a librarian to locate specialized e-books.

General E-book Publishers and Collections Available at the Mansfield Library

  • eBook Collection on EBSCOhost
    Full-text electronic books.
  • Ebrary Academic Complete Subscription Collection
    Full-text electronic books.
  • MontanaLibrary2Go
    Offers over 10,000 downloadable popular e-book and audiobook titles. Items can be downloaded to portable devices like tablets, iPods, e-readers, etc. or a computer for two week periods. Patrons can use their UM library card number (790 number) to borrow up to 5 titles, place holds, and return copies early.
  • Springer Ebooks
    Academic e-books in pdf format from 2005 to the present in the following categories: Behavioral Science, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Material Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Engineering, Humanities/Social Sciences and Law, Mathematics and Statistics, Medicine, Physics and Astronomy, and Professional and Applied Computing.

Free E-Book Collections

  • Project Gutenberg
    Free, out-of-copyright e-books. Can be viewed on a computer or downloaded to an e-reader device.
  • Internet Archive texts
    Contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts, and academic books. Most are downloadable in some format.
  • HathiTrust
    Provides long-term preservation and access services for items both in the public domain and under copyright from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
  • Google Books
    Currently the largest source of e-books. To limit your search to free books, choose "Full view only" and "Books" in the advanced search mode.

Missoula College Librarian

Profile Image
Samantha Hines
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - LinkedInLogo - SkypeLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Mansfield Library @ Missoula College
(406) 243-7818
samantha.hines@umontana.edu

Generally available from 8:30 to 4:30 M-F
Send Email

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Kimberly Swanson
Contact Info
Please contact me to set up an appointment: kimberly.swanson@mso.umt.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip