Skip to main content

Distance Education: Home

Are you taking a class at a distance? Find out what the Mansfield Library can do for you!

Welcome

Our goal is to provide equitable library services for students and faculty off campus. As a student, staff, or faculty member at UM, you are entitled to useful and easy to use library services and resources no matter where you are. Explore the services and instructions below, and contact us with any questions.

Research Assistance

Need Research Help?

  • Consult the online research guides for subject-specific guidance as well as information on citation formatting, copyright, and open educational resources, among other topics.
  • Ask questions via the online "Chat with a Librarian" or by phone (800-240-4939) from 9am-5pm Monday-Friday. Submit questions using the "Email a Librarian" link from the library homepage outside of those hours.
  • Schedule a phone call or online meeting for in-depth research assistance.

Access Specific Library Resources

Specific library resources can be accessed from the library's main website.

  • To find an article, book, media item, government document, or materials in the archives and special collections, enter the item title in the OneSearch search box.
  • To find a specific journal, click on the “Journals” tab above the OneSearch search box, and then search by the journal title.
  • To find a specific database, click on the “Databases” tab above the OneSearch search box, and then search by the name of a database, or click on the link “All” under “Browse by Title” to see a full list the subscription electronic resources available to you.

Access Library Electronic Resources

To find a specific database, click on the “Databases” tab above the OneSearch search box, and then enter the name of a database. Alternately, click on the link “All” under “Browse by Title” to see a full list the subscription electronic resources available to you.

These resources are limited to use by faculty, students, staff and affiliated members of the University of Montana community. For that reason, you will be prompted to log in to the resources using your NetID and password.

Get Materials Sent to You

Request Journal Articles

Submit requests for all articles, either owned or not owned by the Mansfield Library, through Interlibrary Loan. This link is also listed on the main library website. You will get an email from library.ill@umontana.edu with a link to the article when it is available.

Request Books and Other Physical Materials

If you are currently enrolled in UM-Missoula off-campus courses, defined as those UM-Missoula courses that are received or taught away from the Missoula campus, you can request that books that are part of the Mansfield Library’s OneSearch system be mailed to you (as long as you are not also registered for classes on the Missoula campus).

Once a request is made and you receive a text or email telling you the item is available, respond to the message letting us know that 1) you are an online student requesting we mail you the material and 2) your address. We will then send the item to you in a mailer with a return address label on it. You will be responsible for mailing the material back before the due date.

For books, theses, dissertations, or other materials not owned by the Mansfield Library that you need, utilize your local library and their interlibrary loan service.

For further clarification on what can and cannot be requested, please contact Interlibrary Loan personnel at library.ill@umontana.edu or 406-243-6736.