RefWorks Tutorial, RefWorks
Introduction to using RefWorks: logging in, navigating, getting references into RefWorks, organizing your references, building your bibliography, and more.
RefWorks and EndNote Web Comparison
Citation Management Tool
RefWorks is a web-based citation management tool that can help you manage and streamline your research. This software is most helpful if you are working on research involving many citations (say, more than 20) or extensive projects like a thesis or dissertation. You can use citation management software to:
• Create your own personal database to keep track of your research articles, documents, websites, etc.
• Import citation information from a variety of resources (i.e., library catalog) into your database
• Automatically generate a bibliography in a variety of styles (e.g., APA, ASA, Chicago, MLA)
• Add in-text citations to a paper in a variety of styles
01. What is RefWorks?
RefWorks is a web-based software service that helps you organize your research. You can build your bibliography choosing from a variety of citation formats, include citations as you write your paper, and import references from text files or other electronic sources.
The bibliographic database you create is stored on the RefWorks server, which is not on campus. Mansfield Library purchases a subscription to RefWorks for the campus. You can access your account from any internet-connected computer.
There is no limit on the number of references you can store in your account.
Yes, search strategies created in the RefWorks Advanced Search option can be named and saved for future retrieval. Once you have named your advanced search query, re-access it anytime through the View menu under Search Strategy Results.
Access RefWorks from the Mansfield Library's homepage. Click on the View databases, A-Z link. When the screen changes, scroll down the alphabetical title list to select RefWorks. Click on it to enter. The pop-up blocker on your browser must be turned off to use RefWorks.
If this is your first time using RefWorks, you will need to set up an account. This requires the use of your official University of Montana email address. Off-campus access requires a Group Code; this is sent to you when you initially set up your account. If in future time you need the Group code information again, send a request for it from your university account to 'firstname.lastname@example.org'.
Folders can be shared with both RefWorks and non-RefWorks account holders via email, URL, social networking sites, or in UM's Refshares area. Use the "Organize & Share Folders" tab to do so. You have several different options on how to share -
- Read Only: Read-only access allows you to share your database with others on a limited basis. You allow them to search, view and print references in your account, but not add, edit or delete, or create/change folders.
- Share Your Log-in Information: By sharing your log-in name and password with any other registered UM RefWorks users, you allow others full access (add, edit, delete, etc.) to your account.
- Create Multiple RefWorks Accounts: Since RefWorks allows you to create multiple accounts, you can set up separate accounts to share with different audiences. These separate accounts would work much like sharing your log-in information (see #2 description).
- OpenURL Gateway: ReWorks offers through its RefShare feature the ability to link to WorldCat records using OCLC's OpenURL Gateway. This allows users direct access from a shared folder or database to full-text articles and other online resources available from their library (their organization must participate in the WorldCat Registry).
RefWorks offer eight (8) language options - English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean. The language options are located under Tools.
You can add citations four (4) ways -
- Manually - Under the References menu, use the Add New function to type or cut-and-paste data into the citation.
- Direct Export - Add citations from various databases by using their "Export" or "Save Citations" link. RefWorks provides a list of these databases.
- Export / Import - In situations where databases do not allow direct importing into RefWorks, citations could be saved to a text file. Then use the "Import" option under the "References" menu within RefWorks to browse and upload the data file.
- RefGrab-It – This is a plug-in you would install. By clicking on the RefGrab-It icon, it will capture bibliographic information on webpages and offer you the option of importing the data into your RefWorks account.
- Search within RefWorks - PubMed and online library catalogs can be searched while in RefWorks. Citations can then be imported directly into RefWorks.
Choose the Edit icon next to a specific citation. Use the "Browse" button next to the "Attachment" label to upload and attach a file.
Use the Folders menu to group citations into folders for various research topics/projects or whatever you like. Citations can be placed in more than one folder. Folders can be shared via email or via the RefShare website, allowing for collaboration.
There is no limit to the number of folders you can create in an account.
Use the Search menu to find a specific citation or sort by Author, Journal Title,and Subject Descriptor.
Using the RefWorks Write-N-Cite tool, you can easily cite references from your RefWorks library as you write.
Use the "Bibliography" menu or "Create bibliography" button.
Your RefWorks account will continue to be active for you as an alumnus of the University of Montana as long as the University subscribes to the resource. Should the University cancel its subscription, you would no longer have access to your account. At that point you could purchase an individual subscription or, should you become affiliated with another organization which subscribes to RefWorks, move your account to that institution. Contact RefWorks Technical Support for instructions on how to move your database.
RefWorks offers a backup and restore feature that allows you to create a file you can save to your computer and then restore if necessary. RefWorks also backs up all servers several times daily. All data saved using the Service resides on RefWorks, servers which are hosted at an off-site location that is monitored 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Data backups are performed on a regular basis and stored in a separate location. If you need to view or move your data, we recommend using the Export option in RefWorks.
Yes, RefWorks helps you do this through its Export option located under the References menu. You select the citations to be exported, choose the Export Format (EndNote, Procite, or Reference Manager), then click on the Export to Text button. Save this file to your computer. You can now import this file into EndNote, ProCite, or Reference Manager.
A RefWorks Fundamentals 2.0 tutorial offers an introduction to the program. A Quick Start Guide is available for download. There is a Help menu available within RefWorks. Plus, you can email RefWorks or email UM librarians with questions.